Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

NJ States Top 8 Tournament Report

pacostames101

All right so I'm pretty new to the TCG (been playing since Emerging Powers) and this is states was not only my first but my 3rd tournament all together. (I had gone to a cities and a battle roads, both of which I went x-3 and missed top cut) but I was determined to change that today! I was and still am convinced that eel is the best deck right now, it just has so many options and even though it is not as fast as celebi, the consistency that it brings throughout the course of the game is amazing. Anyway since I had spring break this past week I play tested a bit more than I usually do against the decks I thought would be there (eel, celebi, terrakion, durant, reshiphlosion, mew) and felt very comfortable using eel for the tournament. Celebi worried me a though and the consistency of my friends list made me consider changing the night before but I didn't have celebis and usually if I could manage to survive with a decent position after three turns I could usually pull out the win. I did however make a last minute change and decide to use 2 dual ball and 2 collector and I swapped my zapdos for a tornados. I loved zapdos but I felt that tornados helps a bit more in the terrakion matchup and hurricane could help accelerate a zekrom if I had no eel out and zapdos would just snipe tynamo in the mirror match, something that catcher and tyrogue could do rather nicely. Anyway! after taking the bus and crossing a highway like an illegal mexican we arrive in the venue and the tournament starts around 11:30. Sorry if I forgot some names, if you see this and recognize it’s you let me know. My name’s Tristan.

Round 1: eel vs terrakion