A few notes while we wait?

Discussion in 'Compendium Notices' started by bulbasnore, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Yes, we’re waiting on some big post-Worlds rulings and also Arceus is about to hit the Compendium big time. Meawhile, here are two small notes.
    PDF Version. A couple months ago, we got the Acrobat version of the Compendium automated. It kicks in at midnight Pacific Time, or thereabouts. For fans of the PDF version, you can find it linked on “The Compendium” tab on this site. The iSilo version is still there, also automated. And, of course, the HTML version is also linked there and in the “Direct Link” in the sidebar of the front page of the Compendium site.
    Set Up… in reverse. Back in March we received a ruling that Uxie could use its Set Up Poke-POWER with 7 or more cards in your hand. After Worlds, this was reviewed and we received a reversal at the end of September. We don’t have an update log for it yet, because we are waiting for other rulings in that batch. Note that the old ruling was asked in the context of Power Cancel, but because of the reversal, the update went under Set Up. To be clear, you may NOT use Set Up if there are 7 or more cards in your hand.
    See you at Cities…
    ’snore


    Visit original post on Compendium site...
     
  2. wyrmlord

    wyrmlord New Member

    thanks bulbasnore!
     
  3. FlareonMaster

    FlareonMaster New Member

    I am confused, what is this new Uxie rule?
     
  4. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    If you have 7 or more cards in you hand, you can't use Uxie's Set Up.
     
  5. FlareonMaster

    FlareonMaster New Member

    Wasn't that already a rule though? What is new about that? Besides, it wouldn't work anyways because you wouldn't be able to draw the cards if you have 7 or more?
     
  6. arMILO

    arMILO New Member

    i think the new ruling is to prevent you from using set up to try and make your opponent to use a power spray or something. so you can use another power that they can't spray. if the player really is that unattentive and fails to know how many cards you have in your hand, hmm.... idk now. haha
     
  7. FlareonMaster

    FlareonMaster New Member

    Well I can kind of understand that but, how stupid would the person be not to realize how many cards are in your opponents hand? LOL
     
  8. toxicroak 96

    toxicroak 96 New Member

    Well, that's good to know, I always thought you could. You can still Cosmic Power with more than 6 in your hand to draw nothing right?
     
  9. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    Yes, the crucial difference with Cosmic Power is that you are still placing cards to the bottom of the deck. Cosmic Power always does something.
     
  10. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Exactly, NoPoke. Also, note: Cosmic Power does something _intrisically_. Just like Energy Draw puts a card in the discard. It's not depending on another effect to do something.
     
  11. TheDarkTwins

    TheDarkTwins Active Member

    I want to note that I have talked to a few judges, some were at worlds some were not, but currently there is a ruling that is not in the compendium and is being ruled wrong based on what was decided at Worlds.

    They said that if I use Lookers, I don't have to decide how many I draw, but can draw 1, then choose to draw another card, and then continue doing this until I am happy OR until I hit 5 cards in my hand.

    I just was hoping we could get this ruling in the compendium before Cities starts.

    Thanks,
    Drew
     
  12. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Me, too, Drew :thumb:
     
  13. Darkwalker

    Darkwalker New Member

    Why would Looker's draw be ruled to work differently than something like Team Galactic's Wager? Drawing one card at a time and looking at them separately before choosing to draw another seems like a rather odd choice based on the way the card is worded.
     
  14. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Here's the thing, Drew: If it ain't in the Compendium, it aint' our rule yet!
    Yes, it was used at Worlds, but that does not apply to the rest of the tournament year unless and until we or POP publish it as a ruling or an errata.

    That has NOT happened yet and judges should not be applying that ruling yet.
     
  15. TheDarkTwins

    TheDarkTwins Active Member

    I didn't say that it should be applied, but that is kind of a double standard. Hey this rule is in effect for Worlds, but for everything else it isn't. That seems really silly and stupid to me. :nonono:

    Drew
     
  16. G-Dog4377

    G-Dog4377 New Member

    That ruling was stated to work for all cards that have effects that allow players to draw up to a certain number of cards, which would include TGW. The folks that were explaining it to the Worlds participants just used Looker's as an example of a card that has that effect, and now a lot of people are saying only Looker's does that, but it apples for all cards that have a 'draw up to a certain number of cards' effect.
     
  17. Lawman

    Lawman Active Member

    Until it is posted in the Comp X, it is not a rule for us (yet). Read PokePop's post a few above me.

    Keith
     
  18. AzNightmare

    AzNightmare New Member

    I believe the official action for "draw" is to pick up the top card of your deck, and place it into your hand. Therefore you would be able to see what you just drew. And if you can draw up to X (number) of cards... you would by default be looking at each card you draw, and able to stop whenever you decide to, or when you reach X (number) of cards.
     
  19. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    To be clear the 'up to X' ruling change has been submitted and we haven't received the ruling back yet.

    Until we hear otherwise, you play it & rule it such that you declare how many you are drawing in advance.
     

Share This Page