Ace Trainer misplay

Discussion in 'Judges' Chambers' started by xHoshikox, May 8, 2016.

  1. xHoshikox

    xHoshikox New Member

    I am a novice judge and there are a lot of situations that I haven't encountered that require a judge to figure out a penalty for a very specific misplay.
    At a League Challenge, someone played Ace Trainer. Both players shuffled their hands into their decks and before drawing, noticed that they both had the same number of prizes. This is an irreversible game, but seeing that both players agreed to the card being played and went on with it, I am having a hard time thinking that the one who actually played the card should receive a GL as it occurs frequently with irreversible games. What bothers me are facts such as the possibility of the other player not placing prizes on the field neatly that could lead the player to think that there's a different number of prize cards than there actually is, or the affected player purposely agreeing to go on with the Ace Trainer to shuffle their hand into their deck in hopes of getting a better one.

    I'd greatly appreciate a second opinion. Thank you!
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Well, I'd either go with a Double Game Loss or a Game Loss to the player that incorrectly played the Ace Trainer.
    Depends on the specifics of the match which one I would go with.
    As you note, Prizes could not be displayed properly, and numerous other factors.
     
  3. LOLZ

    LOLZ Member

    Both players are at fault, both players did not keep track of gamestate, both players shuffled their hands into their decks. This is unfixable. Double Game Loss.

    my 2 cents
     
  4. ztolerance

    ztolerance New Member

    I am a very new basic Judge and I do agree with the above that both players are responsible for the gamestate so a Double Game Loss would be appropriate unless there were mitigating circumstances like you already noted where I would then look at placing the Game Loss just to that individual.
     

Share This Page