Additional effects when damage is "blocked" (not card specific)

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Swithe, Feb 21, 2015.

  1. Swithe

    Swithe New Member

    I know it seems straightforward, but I tried searching sites and this forum but found nothing to collaborate with despite it sounding like a common occurence.

    If an attack deals damage and has an effect, for example "20 damage and poisons" but a card effect makes the damage 0 such as hard charm, the attack does 0 damage. Does the additional effect (poison in this case) still apply or does the attack fail having done no damage?

    The specific instance this happened was with "Mew EX"(dragons exalted), equipped with "Jamming net" copying Qwilfish's (Flashfire) poison sting. Poison sting dealt 20 - 20 = 0 damage but has the effect "the defending pokemon is now poisoned". Players disputed whether the poison kicked in.

    Summary: Does an attack that causes damage with an additional effect have to cause some damage for the effect to kick in? On the spot, it was decided the attack had "succeeded", it just didnt do damage. As it "succeeded", the poison kicked in.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    In most cases, yes, the effect is still done.
    Certainly in the case of Poison Sting that you outline.
    We avoid answering "general" questions, though, because another attack with different wording might have a different answer.
    But for any with wording like that, yes the effect is still done.
     

Share This Page