Alakazam MT (again) lol

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by DragonairMaster8, Sep 12, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. DragonairMaster8

    DragonairMaster8 New Member

    The opponent announces Delcatty PK's Energy Draw. Alakazam MT is used to counter it. How do you know that the Delcatty user had an energy in their hand in the first place? They could try and trick you by announcing it and having no energy.
     
  2. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    There's a meta-rule that I've never written in any rulebook for Pokemon. It hasn't really even been debated, on whether we should include it. It's a rule that most players just understand, and others need it explained.

    The rule is: don't cheat.

    They should always have an Energy card in their hand, if they announce they are using that Poke-Power.

    If it's a competitive tournament, and you don't want to give away the fact that you plan on using Alakazam's Poke-Power...ask your opponent to choose the Energy card from his or her hand, and put it face-down...nominally to give you time to consider using your Poke-Power.

    This addresses the fact they are activating Delcatty, that they have an Energy card, and that you don't know what the Energy card is...

    Keep in mind, it's just a suggestion on the process. Maybe between yourself and your opponent, you can reach a more amiable method. If you do want to use the method above, talk it over with your opponent when it comes up. That way they're not surprised. (Or you can check with the head judge for the event before the event starts, if you have ideas on how to handle it, and if it's okay with them.)
     

Share This Page