Alakazam Tech?

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by dragonspy900, Jul 30, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. dragonspy900

    dragonspy900 New Member

    Would an Alakzam tech be useful in a Magmortar deck? The power can allow me to discard up to 2 energies when an opponent's pokemon uses a power and negate it So it could become useful to cancel gardivoir's telepass/teleportation and cancel Omastar's power if I go against Empoleon. But is it worth it to put a 2-1-2 or 1-0-1 line in a Mag deck?
  2. Brawler

    Brawler <a href="

    There's no legal kadabra.

    No 2-1-2 lines.

    I guess so.
  3. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    No it's not worth it.
  4. ShinySwampert

    ShinySwampert New Member

    Yes, it's not worth it.
  5. soxrcol

    soxrcol Active Member

    Yes, Its yes worth it.
  6. dragonspy900

    dragonspy900 New Member

    Instead of posting a yew or no answer can you explain why it isn't?
  7. yoyofsho16

    yoyofsho16 New Member

    Wait, so... why didn't they make a Kadabra, that is what I am curious about.
  8. TheDarkTwins

    TheDarkTwins Active Member

    It is a novel idea, but it isn't realistic. You would be better off playing Typhlosion or Blaziken rather than the Alakazam.

  9. Phazon Elite

    Phazon Elite New Member

    It's because of a lawsuit from somebody who promptly had my Pikachu go all 1337 H4X on his face.
  10. Ho Megas Alexandros

    Ho Megas Alexandros New Member

    magmortar doesnt get energy out of the discard. Alakazam has more synergy with typhlosion d than with magmortar.
  11. Dr. Mason

    Dr. Mason New Member

    I'm a big fan of Zam in any deck that would use Rare Candy anyway. Would it really hurt to have a 1-0-1 Zam tech?That could be game winning.
  12. The Phenom1993

    The Phenom1993 New Member

    Alakazam could work well with pokemon like kingdra who need lots of energy in your discard pile to do damage. Other than that i don't see it very useful because you must discard 2 cards from your hand to stop the power.
    And since alakazam power would be best at the start of the game, where your opponent must use powers to setup, you would cripple yourself because you will discard cards.
  13. Dr. Mason

    Dr. Mason New Member

    ...unless discarding certain cards helps your setup.
  14. The Phenom1993

    The Phenom1993 New Member

    I was thinking that he is helpful with garchomp lv.X too.
  15. Dr. Mason

    Dr. Mason New Member

    Either way, I use him in almost any deck now, just as anti-dusknoir. That one extra space...worth it.
  16. skarmory777

    skarmory777 New Member

    Id try with Infernape. Magmortar doesnt touch discarded energies. The body helps to void powers and stock up fire in the discard for Infernape Lv. X.
  17. ShinySwampert

    ShinySwampert New Member

    Good idea. I WILL try this.
  18. ixidor89

    ixidor89 New Member

    No, I think that the point would be to run Alakazam with Magmortar and Blaziken/Typhlosion. Then you can discard to cancel powers and use Firestarter to get energy discarded onto Magmortars.

    I'd give it a whirl. Canceling Claydol is always pretty nice.
  19. Professor Elm

    Professor Elm Active Member

    I don't like Alakazam, period.
    Discard 2 to stop a power is nice, no doubt, BUT realistically you won't be able to just give up 2 cards whenever you want. More than likely you will struggle with drawing cards enough as it is, much less discarding them.

    Some decks can support it because they aren't combo oriented and can afford to drop cards from their hand, but Magmortar is very combo oriented and can't afford to give up anything other than maybe a fire energy every NOW AND THEN.
  20. Noah121

    Noah121 Active Member

    Yeah, I agree. It works better in decks like Infernape Lv. X that abuse cards in the discard pile. Or, perhaps use it in an Aggron MT deck. It's up to you what to do.

Share This Page