Another mistranslated card from SW: Breloom

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Magic_Umbreon, Mar 20, 2008.

  1. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    Breloom SW research tower scan

    It's first attack reads:

    A post by Tego reads:

    Breloom SW's drain punch attack text can be seen on the official site here:

    相手のエネルギーの数ぶんのダメージカウンターを、自分からとる。

    Which contains the 数 part but not the 個 used in Blaziken GE to mean energy provided. (explained in Tegos post).

    Which for me implies it should remove a damage counter for each energy card attached to the defending pokémon, rather than for each energy as it says on the possibly mistranslated card.

    That's my opinion applying discussion comments from other energy/energy cards to Breloom I forward for potential official investigation.

    As Breloom decks like these look to get more popular I hope if errata is needed, this gets nipped in the bud.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2008
  2. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    I've checked on the Japanese-to-English translation. It is correct as written on the card.
     

Share This Page