April 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by PokePop, Apr 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Rulings in time for Saturday's Events:

    Note the errata!

    Last edited: Thursday, April 8th, 2004
    (Added April 8th Rulings)


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:

    |
    |
    |
    * April 1st 2004 -- MEETING CANCELED --
    * April 8th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == POKEMON REVERSAL (Expedition; EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. The wording on the "Pokemon Reversal" trainer changed significantly between the Expedition version and the EX:Ruby/Sapphire version. How should we play this card? Do we play each one "as written", or should we play them all the way the latest (or older) version of the card says?
    A. It should read like the Expedition version, with a slight tweak to make it 2-on-2 applicable. "Choose 1 of your opponent's Benched Pokemon. Flip a coin. If heads, your opponent switches that Pokemon with 1 of his or her Defending Pokemon." The opponent chooses the defending, but the person playing the card chooses the benched. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == GLOWING SCREEN (Illumise - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. I attack Illumise (with Volbeat in play) using Team Magma's Groudon. As it is not actually a resistance, does groudon's Pulverise attack get reduced by 30 or 60?
    A. Only 30. Just because the Team Magma's Groudon is both Fighting & Darkness types, doesn't mean that Illumise gets to double its power. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == MAGMA SWITCH (Team Magma's Claydol - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Team Magma's Claydol's "Magma Switch" says "Once during your turn, you may move an energy attched to your pokemon with Team Magma in its name to another of your Pokemon". Does that mean I can move an energy from each of my Team Magma pokemon to another, or only from one of my Team Magma pokemon to another? (it does not say "one of your Pokemon with Team Magma...")
    A. No, you can only move an energy from ONE of your Team Magma pokemon to any of your other pokemon. It's just not worded very clearly. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == PROTECTIVE DUST (Dustox - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. Will Dustox stop Team Magma's Houndoom from doing "Magma Spurt"?
    A. No, the discarding portion of Magma Spurt is used to calculate how much damage is to be done; it is not "an effect done to Dustox". And damage done is NOT prevented by Dustox. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == AQUA SLASH (Team Aqua's Sharpedo - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Team Aqua's Sharpedo's "Aqua Slash" attack states that Team Aqua's Sharpedo cant attack next turn. But if I retreat to a new pokemon and then come back with him can I attack again with Aqua Slash?
    A. Effects like this go away when the active goes to the bench. So if Team Aqua's Sharpedo goes to the bench and becomes active once again, he can then use Aqua Slash on that turn. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == BAD NEWS (Absol - EX:Dragon)

    Q. If I attach a Darkness Energy to Absol and then do "Bad News", will my opponent take 10 damage after I discard their cards?
    A. Darkness Energy only does +10 extra damage if any damage is done to begin with. So since "Bad News" doesn't do any damage, the extra 10 does not apply. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == DESTINY BOND (Gastly - Base Set)

    Q. If Gastly has a Focus Band attached and used Destiny Bond, if it is KO'd and flips heads, is the Attacking Pokemon Knocked Out?
    A. No, the Focus Band prevents Gastly from being Knocked Out, so therefore it would not Knock Out the Attacking Pokemon. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == FLIP OVER (Wobbuffet - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Say I have Wobbuffet with a Double Rainbow Energy and I use Flip Over. I know it will do 40 damage because of DRE's effect, but will Wobbuffet still recieve the 10 self-damage, or does that get erased because of DRE's effect?
    A. The wording on DRE says "Damage done to your OPPONENT's Pokemon..." gets reduced. So in this case the Wobbuffet will still damage itself. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == MAGMA SPURT (Team Magma's Houndooom - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Will Dustox stop Team Magma's Houndoom from doing "Magma Spurt"?
    A. No, the discarding portion of Magma Spurt is used to calculate how much damage is to be done; it is not "an effect done to Dustox". And damage done is NOT prevented by Dustox. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == PSYIMPACT (XATU - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. How do I figure the damage for Xatu with Double Rainbow Energy attached since it does 10 to each bench, and DRE says reduce all damage done to the defending pokemon by 10?
    A. Actually, Xatu's "Psyimpact" attack says to "place 1 damage counter on each of your opponent's Pokemon". DRE only reduces damage, not other effects of an attack (such as placing damage counters). So each of your opponent's Pokemon including benched ones would receive 1 damage counter on them from Xatu's attack. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == PULL DOWN (Omastar - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. What happens if you use "Pull Down" against a Stage 1 or Stage 2 Pokemon brought into play by trainers "Archie" or "Maxie"?
    A. It will not work; Archie & Maxie state to treat those cards as Basic Pokemon, so they cannot be Pulled Down. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == STRIKE AND RUN (Dunsparce - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. When you use Strike and Run, I know you can select 0 pokemon to get, but are you allowed to select 0 and then switch Dunsparce with another pokemon on your bench still? I would think so because it doesn't say "After doing so you may switch dunsparce" it just says "You may switch Dunsparce with 1 of your benched pokemon".
    A. That is correct; you can still switch the Dunsparce even if you select zero Pokemon. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ARCHIE / MAXIE (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. If I Archie or Maxie a Stage 2 Pokemon down, can I place a Double Rainbow Energy on it?
    [A. Sorry, but DRE can only be attached to an Evolved Pokemon, and Archie & Maxie specifically state to treat the retrieved card as a Basic Pokemon.]


    == POKEMON REVERSAL (Expedition; EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. The wording on the "Pokemon Reversal" trainer changed significantly between the Expedition version and the EX:Ruby/Sapphire version. How should we play this card? Do we play each one "as written", or should we play them all the way the latest (or older) version of the card says?
    A. It should read like the Expedition version, with a slight tweak to make it 2-on-2 applicable. "Choose 1 of your opponent's Benched Pokemon. Flip a coin. If heads, your opponent switches that Pokemon with 1 of his or her Defending Pokemon." The opponent chooses the defending, but the person playing the card chooses the benched. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    ***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS BEEN OVERRULED; See Above *****
    Q. Can you check the ruling for Pokemon Reversal again? After speaking to my cousin who plays in Japan, he said that Pokemon Reversal over there is played the way it was written in Expedition. Shouldn't it be more like a Gust of Wind (with a flip) than half a Warp Point?
    A. Play it as written in Ruby/Sapphire version until further notice. (Mar 25, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    ***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS BEEN OVERRULED; See Above *****
    Q. The wording on the "Pokemon Reversal" trainer changed significantly between the Expedition version and the EX:Ruby/Sapphire version. How should we play this card? Do we play each one "as written", or should we play them all the way the latest (or older) version of the card says?
    A. In cases such as this, the wording of the card was deliberately changed in the more recent version of the card. In general when playing older versions, you should treat the text as it is written on the most recent printing (in this case the EX:Ruby/Sapphire version). (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == TEAM AQUA BELT / TEAM MAGMA BELT (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)
    [CHRISBO NOTE: Fix Title to reflect both since they do almost the exact same thing.]

    Q. If I attach a Team Aqua Belt or Team Magma Belt to one of my benched Pokemon and then it is somehow gusted up into the active slot during my opponent's turn, I would get to evolve my Pokemon after my opponent's turn is finished, right? And if so, would I then be able to evolve it again during MY OWN turn?
    A. Yes, that scenario is correct. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ENERGY CARDS IN GENERAL

    * The amount of energy an Energy card provides is equal to the number of energy symbols in the upper right or left corner of the card, regardless of how many different types of energy is provided. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == DOUBLE RAINBOW ENERGY (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Say I have Wobbuffet with a Double Rainbow Energy and I use Flip Over. I know it will do 40 damage because of DRE's effect, but will Wobbuffet still recieve the 10 self-damage, or does that get erased because of DRE's effect?
    A. The wording on DRE says "Damage done to your OPPONENT's Pokemon..." gets reduced. So in this case the Wobbuffet will still damage itself. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TWO ON TWO GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TEAM GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page