Aqua/Magma Belt & Special Conditions

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by bulbasnore, Mar 16, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    This came up at San Diego Pre-Release:

    If I have a Pokémon that is poisoned this turn, with Aqua Belt attached, if Aqua Belt succeeds in allowing me to evolve the Pokémon, does the Belt remove the poison condition before it does damage?

    This is how we ruled:

    The person who controls the Pokémon with the Belt card attached has the option to allow the special condition action to take effect -- or not -- before evolving the Pokémon. Once the Pokémon evolves, the special condition is removed. The condition can be removed by evolution in this case before its effect (poison damage, flip for burn) is applied.

    This seemed consistent with previous rulings about the order of condition effects between turns being at the option of the person in control of the card. Is this right?
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    It's a Tool and rulings on Gold Berry and Miracle Berry support that choice.
    We'll ask it, though.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page