Aqua Patch and Splash Energy

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by BJJ763, Jul 13, 2019.

8 league13 468 60
  1. BJJ763

    BJJ763 Trading Mod Supervisor Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    A Leaguer got upset with me when I mentioned she couldn't get Splash Energy with Aqua Patch.

    But I couldn't find a ruling so I figured i'd ask.

    Her view is Splash Energy does not have the "provides {colorless} energy when not in play" so she can Aqua Patch it.

    I told her the card "only provides Water Energy only while this card is attached to a Water Pokémon."

    But there's nothing like an official ruling
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Well, it doesn't provide colorless energy while not in play.
    It provides no energy.
    It also doesn't count as a colorless energy card.
    But, the thing that does matter, and that addresses her question, is that it states, "This card provides {W} Energy only while this card is attached to a {W} Pokémon.
    So that means that at all other times, including while in the deck or in the discard, it is not providing {W} energy and therefore can't be "seen" by Aqua Patch.
     
    Otaku likes this.

Share This Page