Archie's Ace in the Hole/Maxie's Hidden Ball Trick versus Level X Pokémon

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Otaku, May 24, 2019.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Otaku

    Otaku Active Member

    Someone asked me this question and I gave them the wrong answer, because I was thinking of BREAK Evolutions and not Level X Pokémon, so I'll ask here to make it up to them. ^^'

    Can card effects like those of Archie's Ace in the Hole, Maxie's Hidden Ball Trick, etc. put a Level X card directly into play?

    Since I'm bothering you about it, I may as well just ask for guidelines (or a list - whatever is easier) about what can and cannot be put directly into play by this kind of effect. On my own, the only hang-up I can think of is that "Lv.X" isn't a Stage, with Lv.X cards counting as their prior Stage of Evolution. Unless I'm remembering that wrong as well. >.>

    Thanks!
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    It has less to do with Stage and more to do with "is this a complete Pokemon?"
    Level X, Break, and Legend cards are all incomplete on their own. They each require another card in order to have complete stats.
    As such, they can't be put into play on their own.
     
    Otaku likes this.

Share This Page