ATM Ice and No Effect

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by ninetales1234, Sep 18, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. ninetales1234

    ninetales1234 <a href="http://pokegym.net/gallery/browseimages.p

    Q. What happens if I play ATM-Ice but the opponent doesn't have any trainer cards in play?
    A. If you cannot discard any of the opponent's trainers, you do not get the added protection benefit of the attack. You can still use the attack when they have no trainers in play; it just doesn't have any effect. (Jun 10, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    Isn't it illegal to play a traner card for no effect?
    I'm going to guess that ATM-Ice (in that scenario) does not fall into that category, but I'm not sure.
     
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    It is a legal attack because it does not state that they must have a trainer in play in order to use the attack. However, if they don't have a trainer in play, the attack does nothing. That is very different from playing a trainer for no effect.

    BDS
     

Share This Page