Baby Pokemon Ruling

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by MuRa, Apr 11, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. MuRa

    MuRa New Member

    I posted this on the ask the master site but until I get an answer, I would like something...

    Does the "Baby Rule" apply to new babies? IE Basic with Poke-Power "Baby Evolution". The store where I play Pokemon, everyone is convinced it does still apply, but it doesn't make sense to me but I can't find any proof to convince them. Help me out? Or tell me if I'm wrong and it still does apply.
     
  2. annisarich

    annisarich New Member

    the new "baby pokemon" are Basic Pokemon Cards ity says so on them.
    The old "baby pokemon" are baby cards
     
  3. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    So they're playing them as 50 HP "Babies?
    It doesn't bother them that it doesn't say that they are Baby Pokemon, that they don't have the Baby Rule printed on them, that they don't say that they evolve into the mathcing Basic, and so on?
     
  4. dkates

    dkates New Member

    The Baby Rule isn't printed on those cards, therefore, it doesn't apply to them. Just like the ex rule is printed on every Pokémon-ex, the Baby Rule is printed on every card it applies to.
     
  5. Postdog2Gengar

    Postdog2Gengar New Member

    So, does this mean that you can't evolve the new babies into their normal basic?
     
  6. dkates

    dkates New Member

    Yes, you can. They all have Poké-Powers that let you evolve them into their "matching" Basics.
     
  7. duanojo

    duanojo New Member

    Yes, they can evolve into their basic counterparts, but it's now a "special" evolution, not a regular evolution, so you have to be careful.
     
  8. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    For example, since it's a PokePower, it get's past Fossil Aerodactyl.
    But not everything.
    Look at rulings in the Compendium EX.
     
  9. MuRa

    MuRa New Member

    I've been trying to explain to them that that's why babies have more hp than they use to, but they insist on making me flip. Pokepop, I've seen you post on the "Ask the master" board before, could you post a definitive response there so I could print it out and show them? Thanks :)
     
  10. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Sure, will that do, or you need it in the Compendium?
     
  11. MuRa

    MuRa New Member

    Either would be good :) Thanks!
     
  12. annisarich

    annisarich New Member

    is the origional question of this thread in regards to flipping to see if you can attack?
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2004
  13. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Is the original..what?
     
  14. Postdog2Gengar

    Postdog2Gengar New Member

    I think that he meant: Is the original question in this thread referring to flipping to see if you can attack against a baby?
     
  15. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    If it's a Baby Pokemon, you flip in order to attack.
    If it's a Basic Pokemon that has the Baby Evolution Power, you don't flip.

    No rule printed on the card, no flip.
     

Share This Page