Basic Gameplay Question

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by jerol, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. jerol

    jerol New Member

    My son is just learning to play (he's 8, btw) and I've been helping him a bit.

    I am familiar with the Vs. System TCG and it has similar rules regarding deck construction whereby you can only have 4 copies of any particular card. My question is this:

    Are you allowed to have multiple copies of the same Pokemon in play at the same time? As an example, if I have 2 copies of Ponyta, can I have them in play at the same time? If I later evolve Ponyta to Rapidash, can a second Ponyta be put into play then?

    The Vs System prohibits this, but I get the sense from reading the basic/expert rules for Pokemon that you are allowed to have multiple copies of the same card in play at the same time.

    Many thanks,

    Jerol
     
  2. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    You can have all 4 of your Ponyta in play - they aren't unique personalities.

    Rules questions are always welcome!
     

Share This Page