Bring Down for no effect

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Pajamas, Apr 14, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Pajamas

    Pajamas <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    I'm hoping for a clarification of this response:
    http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=70924

    My understanding of the scenario is that there are two Pokemon in play tied for lowest remaining HP. One of them has effects blocked with Unown G. One player announces an attack of Bring Down. According to the response linked above, if the attacking player then chooses to attack the protected Pokemon, "nothing happens." My thinking is that since you are not allowed to make an attack when it is publicly known beforehand that it will have no effect, the player who has announced the attack should be forced to knock out the other Pokemon. Why is this not the case? Thank you in advance.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You have a wrong premise.
    You are not allowed to play a card if it is known ahead of time that it will have no effect.

    That is not the same thing as doing an attack.

    You are allowed to do something that, on its own, should have an effect. If something is going to interfere with or block that effect, that doesn't stop you from trying.
     

Share This Page