Bring down / side selection

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by yoyofsho16, May 4, 2008.

  1. yoyofsho16

    yoyofsho16 New Member

    Someone at my card shop said that when using Bring Down, because it says "Choose 1 Pokemon (yours or your opponents,)" that this means you could either select YOUR pokemon with the lowest hp or one of THEIR pokemon with the lowest HP. For example, i have a duskull with 40 hp left, and they have a pachirisu with 70 hp left, and those are both the lowest hp pokemon, that i could bring down HIS pachirisu, as i am choosing HIS pokemon with the lowest, as opposed to mine. Is this true? Or is it only the lowest hp pokemon on the WHOLE field (excluding gardevoir) that can be Brought Down?
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    No, that's not how it works.

    First, you get the set of Pokemon that have the Lowest HP.
    Then, if some of those are his and some of those are yours, you get to choose which one.
    But if your own Pokemon has the lowest hit points of all, then that's the only one you can choose.
    So make sure before declaring the attack!

    Here's a couple of rulings that depend on that point: http://compendium.pokegym.net/compendium-lvx.html#211
     

Share This Page