Buffer piece with smash short AND feint attack.

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by yoyofsho16, May 1, 2008.

  1. yoyofsho16

    yoyofsho16 New Member

    Pachirisu GE's second attack, smash short, reads:

    (C) Smash Short 10+
    If the Defending Pokemon has a Pokemon Tool attached to it, this attack does 10 damage plus 30 more damage. Discard that Pokemon Tool card, look at your opponent's hand, and discard any Pokemon Tool cards of the same name you find there.

    Lets say I have a Pachirisu, and use this attack against an opponent with Buffer piece attatched. Would Smash Short do 40, disregarding the buffer piece? or would it do 20 damage with the effects of buffer piece and THEN discard it?

    Another situation:
    Honchkrow Lv. X (and a few other cards) has an attack called feint attack, which reads:

    (C)(C) Feint Attack

    Choose 1 of your opponent's Pokémon. This attack does 40 damage to that Pokémon. This attack's damage isn't affected by Weakness, Resistance, Poké-Powers, Poké-Bodies, or any other effects on that Pokémon.

    It says "other effects on that pokemon." Does that only include effects WRITTEN on the card, or do tools count? Would Feint Attack against a pokemon with Buffer piece attatched do 40 or 20?

    Thanks.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    20.
    Damage is done first, then attack effects.

    Buffer Piece placed an effect on the Pokemon it is attached to, so it would be ignored.
     

Share This Page