Buried Treasure - Rediscovering Lv.X Answers

Discussion in 'Compendium Notices' started by bulbasnore, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Now that the EX series cards, with their different meanings for the terms “Trainer” and “Basic*Pokémon*or*Evolution*card”, have been removed from the modified format allowed at Premier events, there are fewer posted questions about basic rules changes introduced by Diamond and Pearl. We premiere event players and Pokémon League members are now so used to the rules changes introduced by the Diamond and Pearl expansion, that we’ve moved on to wondering about format changes and working on our understanding of the Platinum changes (SP Pokémon and the like). However, people still ask the Rules Team members basic questions about Lv.X cards.
    When the awesome Diamond and Pearl expansion first came out a New Additions document was published describing most of the changes to the game rules. Google claims that this document is not linked anywhere anymore (we’ll fix that). Some of the points in that document are still being asked about in 2009, but those points were not fully reproduced in the “What’s new in the Diamond & Pearl expansion?” summary in the basic online rulebook. Most of the points from the Lv.X section of the above document ARE covered in the printed rule books that come with the pre-constructed theme decks in each expansion.
    As an aside, did we mention that judges should buy a theme deck or trade their players to obtain a recent rule book? Well, I recommend doing that and also keeping it with you during tournaments… it resolves some questions that your other references do not!
    Back to our Lv.X archaeology, here is a quote of the Lv.X section from the New Additions document:
    Pokémon LV. X
    The Diamond & Pearl expansion introduces a new type of Pokémon—Pokémon LV. X! These cards represent the most powerful extremes that a Pokémon can reach, granting extra abilities, attacks, and more HP. They are played similarly to an Evolution card but have special rules as well.
    • A Pokémon LV. X can’t be played on a Pokémon that evolved that turn or on a LV. X already in play. (For example, if you evolved your Pokémon to Torterra this turn, you could not play Torterra LV. X on that Pokémon.)
    • When a Pokémon LV. X is played, it keeps all cards attached to it as well as any damage counters it already had. It also keeps all attacks, Poké-Powers, and Poké-Bodies from the earlier level.
    • When a Pokémon LV. X is played, it removes all Special Conditions and other effects from that Pokémon.
    • A Pokémon LV. X shares the same name as the Pokémon it is put on top of. (For example, you can only have 4 Torterra in your deck—you could have 2 Torterra and 2 Torterra LV. X but not 4 of each.)
    • A Pokémon LV. X is not considered an Evolution card. Cards that allow a player to search his or her deck for an Evolution card only (such as Professor Elm’s Training Method) cannot be used to retrieve a Pokémon LV. X. If an effect removes the highest Stage Evolution card from a Pokémon LV. X, both the earlier evolution that the Pokémon LV. X is on top of and the Pokémon LV. X are removed.
    Some of those statements are irrelevant to the current format (i.e. Professor Elm’s Training Method), but others relate to questions that are still being asked in 2009.
    1. Can I level up one Shaymin Lv.X card with the other, and if I do, can I use the attacks on the previous card?
      This seemed like a head-scratcher at first, but it seems it’s addressed directly in the first bullet in the New Additions document: No.
    2. Can I Level-up a Pokémon I just evolved or was just played this turn?
      No.
    As far as I can tell, you can’t find rules statement related to question #1 in a document anywhere online, other than this the New Additions and a somewhat oblique reference in the Compendium Lv.X. And, statements answering question #2 is found nowhere online outside the New Additions document (and maybe Ask the Rules Team forum). Please post links that I didn’t find!
    So, above, for your enjoyment is a link the “New Additions” document. Enjoy! It should show up soon on a Rules Team agenda to see what items need to be submitted for rulings; any rulings received will, of course, be recorded in the Compendium Lv.X.


    Visit original post on Compendium site...
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
  2. Shino Bug Master

    Shino Bug Master Front Page News Editor

    While I assume i already know the answer, if we are going over basic rules of Level Xs, if I have a DP Infernape Lv.X and a SF Infernape underneath it, is it both a Fire and Fighting type or just Fire? This question has been asked a few times at league and such...

    Also, hopefully this will be helpful to some of the deadbeat players that ask these questions with every new set that comes out =D
     
  3. yoyofsho16

    yoyofsho16 New Member

    Just fire. The type, like the HP, is updated. I mean, it doesn't make sense that the Lv X would have 2 different hp values, so it doesn't make sense that it would have 2 types. That's how I view the logic, at least.
     
  4. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    @Shedinjas - type change is covered in the Compendium Lv.X - http://compendium.pokegym.net/compendium-lvx.html#92 . I was just amazed the by the time we had a Lv.X that could implement the Leveling up a Lv.X question, the original FAQ that covered the Question had been buried... and it was a search to get it answered.
     
  5. homeofmew

    homeofmew Active Member

    Don't you mean LV x/ DP-ON
     
  6. Luxatos

    Luxatos <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Keep reading the sentence. "Now that the EX series cards... have been removed from the modified format allowed at Premier events..."
     
  7. homeofmew

    homeofmew Active Member

    lol oops yeah on the main page all I saw was EX cards XD
     
  8. hanyoulink

    hanyoulink New Member

    there's a big problem we've been having at my local league, can you de-evolute a pokemon lv.x with the tm? i mean according to what i read both the level x and the highhest evolution would be returned to there hand right?
     
  9. bullados

    bullados <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?

    Here's the TM-TS2, verbatum, emphasis mine.

    As far as that TM is concerned, you can't even target a Pokemon LvX.

    If you're asking about something like Omastar, though, here's the ruling from the Compendium...

     
  10. hanyoulink

    hanyoulink New Member

    ahhh thanks, just wanted to know for sure.
     
  11. Starcoffin

    Starcoffin New Member

    LVL X Searching. So, if a LVL X is not considered an evolution card, can you search for it with roseannes research?

    Another question, can you search for a basic LVL X with a card Roseannes Research. Such as a Shaymin LVL X or a Mewtwo LVL X?
     
  12. bullados

    bullados <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?

    a LvX is considered a Pokemon card.

    It is not a Basic.

    It is not an Evolution.

    It is a Pokemon.

    That is it.
     
  13. Tego

    Tego New Member

    That's not quite accurate, is it? A level X is a Pokémon, and it is a Level Up card. There have been four types of Pokémon in total:

    Pokémon cards
    Basic Pokémon cards
    Evolution cards
    Level Up Cards
    Baby Pokémon Cards (now obsolete, but still mentioned in rule books)

    Just like Evolution cards, Level Up Cards is just another subclass of Pokémon cards.
     
  14. mca3

    mca3 New Member

    WHat about level-max? If I jsut played a Cressilia, can I play level-max, and if I get heads, level up?
     
  15. bullados

    bullados <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?

    Yep, Trainers, Poke-Powers, and Poke-Bodies can break the "normal" rules unless they state otherwise (read Pokemon Breeder from Base Set for an idea of how that's worded)
     
  16. KingGengar

    KingGengar New Member

    Just another dumb question: If I level up Machamp to Machamp Lv.X, and Galactic HQ is out, does Machamp Lv.X take 20 damage?
     
  17. Tego

    Tego New Member

    KingGengar: Take a look at my previous reply about the different "subclasses" of Pokémon. Then try to look at it this way:

    - Putting the subclass "Evolution Card" on top of the subclass "Basic Pokémon" or "Evolution Card" is a process called evolving a Pokémon

    - Putting the subclass "Level Up Card" on top of the subclass "Basic Pokémon" or "Evolution Card" is a process called leveling up a Pokémon

    Now, Galactic HQ says tells you to put 2 damage counter on a Pokémon put down from your hand to evolve. Since you just put a Level Up Card on a Evolution Card, you just didn't evolve.

    Hope this helped! Believe me, you're not alone being confused by this - I get asked the same (more or less) question over and over again at every tournament I judge.
     
  18. Qwachansey

    Qwachansey Active Member

    How are Baby Pokemon obsolete? What about Munchlax or Happiny? :frown:
     
  19. BJJ763

    BJJ763 Trading Mod Supervisor Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Those are not Babies. The NEO block had the Baby Rule for cards that were Baby Pokémon.
     
  20. Qwachansey

    Qwachansey Active Member

    Oh my goodness, I had no idea! How terrible! :frown:
     

Share This Page