Calling all Judges and Professors: R&S Chansey ex

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Prof. Douglas Zuver, Aug 13, 2003.

  1. Prof. Douglas Zuver

    Prof. Douglas Zuver New Member

    To all my Professor Friends,

    I found another problem to deal with.
    This one is much easier, I think.

    Thanks for any response in the matter and
    in the last post as well, your answers will be
    put to use in an upcoming tournament.

    We seem to be in a transition period where
    the Professors will have to debate the rules
    amoung ourselves and apply what we know.

    Chansey ex (Ruby and Sapphire card # 96)

    Healing Egg
    Remove 2 damage counters (1 if there is only 1)
    from each of your Pokemon. Remove no damage
    counters from Chansey ex.

    Double-edge 80
    Chansey ex does 60 damage to itself.

    Things are fine if we only have one Chansey ex on
    the table. Healing Egg heals everyone but the active
    Chansey ex.

    But where there is one Chansey ex, there is bound to
    be another in the deck somewhere.
    And sooner or later somebody will put the hurt Chansey ex
    on the bench, and move a new one out front and use
    Healing Egg. Then the opponent will raise their hand,
    call Doug over and say "Chansey ex can't heal Chansey ex."

    (At that point Doug will roll his eyes and ask for a Lava Cookie)

    Anyway, there are at least two ways to look at this:

    First, that the words Chansey ex is the self referencing rule,
    and it would have been better written as:

    Healing Egg
    Remove 2 damage counters (1 if there is only 1)
    from each of your Pokemon. Remove no damage
    counters from THIS Chansey ex.

    .........................................

    Second, that Chansey ex simply is unsocial and cannot
    heal ANY Chansey ex on the table.

    Thanks,
    Doug

    PS I like to use this Chansey with Gardevoir's
    Poke-Power "Psy Shadow"
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    This definately falls under the self referencing rule.
    If it meant any Chansey EX, it would include an article like "a" or "any". By just saying "Chansey EX", it means the card itself.

    It would have been a good opportunity for Pokemon USA to change the phrasing to be like the Japanese where they actually do say "this Pokemon".
     
  3. ukpokemonpro

    ukpokemonpro New Member

    Gotta agree with PokePop it's self referencing (this Pokemon) and therefore 2 or more would mean one can heal the other(s) but not itself.
     
  4. dkates

    dkates New Member

    In that case, they could have saved space by writing it as, "Remove 2 damage counters (1 if there is only one) from each of your other Pokemon." Just another example of wording that could have been much simpler.
     
  5. Noah121

    Noah121 Active Member

    I agree that this falls under the "Self-Reference Rule". This is a little different, since this can cause confusion on whether it means only the user or all "Chansey ex". However, the attack could be worded like so if it was meant to not heal ANY Chansey ex:
    "Remove 2 damage counters from all your Pokémon in play not named "Chansey ex"."

    Here is how I think it should be:
    "Remove 2 damage counters from each of your Pokémon in play other than the Pokémon that used this attack." (This takes care of the Metronome/Copy problems too!)
     

Share This Page