Can Feint Attack or Swift get through Poke Bodies?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Umbreonking, Oct 5, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Umbreonking

    Umbreonking New Member

    [CHRISBO EDIT - Fixed title to be more descriptive.]

    Can Feint Attack or Swift get through poke bodies?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2003
  2. Chrisbo

    Chrisbo Administrator

    Yes they can. Here are some old Compendium rulings to back this up:

    == FEINT ATTACK (Murkrow - Neo: Genesis Expansion, Umbreon - Neo: Discovery Expansion, Houndour - Aquapolis Expansion)

    * Feint attacks (against the Defending Pokemon) and Swift attacks ignore ANY effect attempting to reduce their damage. This means that Murkrow's Feint attack if done against the Defending Pokemon is NOT reduced by Unown D's Darkness Pokemon Power. This also means that a colorless Pokemon using a Swift or Feint attack is NOT reduced by a Sprout Tower either. These attacks cannot have their damage reduced by any game effect. [ED. NOTE: This rule only applies to attacks against the DEFENDING Pokemon; attacks against the bench may have damage reduced by other game effects, etc.] (Feb 14, 2002 WotC Chat, Q18)



    == SWIFT (Misty's Staryu - Gym: Heroes Expansion, Cyndaquil - Neo: Genesis Expansion, Electabuzz - Neo: Genesis Expansion)
    * The SWIFT attack ignores all Pokémon Powers, Weaknesses, Resistances, or ANY other effects that attempt to alter the amount of damage done by this attack. SWIFT does NOT prevent anything that prevents the attack from actually occurring however like Smokescreen or Transparency. So SWIFT will ignore a Defender that is attached to the Defending Pokémon as it is an affect that is attempting to alter the amount of damage done by the attack. (Aug 24, 2000 WotC Chat Announcements)


    Hope this helps,
    - CHRISBO
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page