Can't Perform Mandatory Energy Discards - Illegal and stuck, or Fails and turn ends?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Chairman Kaga, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. Chairman Kaga

    Chairman Kaga Active Member

    It is now well-established (hopefully) that if an attack calls for the discard of energy from the Attacking Pokemon, that discard is mandatory.

    My question is, if such an attack is declared and the player cannot perform the discard, is it considered an illegal action, or does the attack do nothing?
    • If it's considered an illegal action, the action is rolled back and the player may either declare a legal attack or pass.
    • If the attack does nothing, it's still considered an attack and the player's turn ends (just like flipping tails on a flip attack).
    Which is correct?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2008
  2. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    The Energy discard is considered a required effect - if you can't discard the Energy, the attack does nothing when it goes to resolve.
     
  3. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    The only thing that would make it an illegal attack is if the energy was also required to do the Attack. In that case you declared an Attack and you do not have the required energy. That Attack must be rolled back and you could either do another Attack that you had the proper energy for, or your turn would end.

    That is not the same as not having the right Energy to discard when the Attack says "discard xx Energy or this Attack does nothing". In that case the Attack happens, it just doesn't do anything.

    BDS
     

Share This Page