Compendium Updates for August 13th, 2015

Discussion in 'Compendium Updates' started by PKM4, Aug 14, 2015.

  1. PKM4

    PKM4 Compendium Publishing Assistant

    Last edited: Thursday, August 13th, 2015
    (Added August 13th Rulings, plus FAQ for XY: Ancient Origins)

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:

    |
    |
    * May 14th, 2015 thru August 6th, 2015-- No New Rulings!! --
    * July 2nd, 2015 -- NO MEETING (US-Nationals) --
    * August 13th, 2015 TPCi Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --
    * XY07: Ancient Origins FAQ --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    META-RULINGS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ANCIENT TRAITS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == THETA STOP (Mega Sceptile - XY: Ancient Origins)

    Q. If Sceptile-EX has its Spirit Link tool attached, but Banette's "Tool Concealment" Ability is in play, what happens if you evolve to Mega Sceptile-EX with the "Theta Stop" Ancient Trait?
    A. Theta Stop prevents the effect of Banette's ability against Mega Sceptile-EX in time for the Spirit Link tool to turn back on and not make you end your turn. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ABILITIES
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == AQUA EFFECT (Vaporeon - XY: Ancient Origins)
    == ELECTRIC EFFECT (Jolteon - XY: Ancient Origins)
    == FLARE EFFECT (Flareon - XY: Ancient Origins)

    Q. If Flareon's "Flare Effect" ability or Vaporeon's "Aqua Effect" ability or Jolteon's "Electric Effect" ability adds Fire or Water or Electric type to a Darkness Type Pokemon, does Dangerous Energy get discarded since it says, "If this card is attached to anything other than a {D} Pokemon, discard this card"?
    A. No, it is not discarded. Even with the addition of another type to the Darkness Pokemon it is still also a Darkness Pokemon. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)

    Q. If "Flare Effect" or "Aqua Effect" or "Electric Effect" has added {R} or {W} or {L} to my {G} Ariados' type, when I use its "Poisonous Nest" Ability to poison all Active Pokemon except {G} type, is Ariados poisoned or not?
    A. Ariados is not poisoned, because it is still {G} type. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)

    Q. Does Golurk's "Double Type" ability which says "As long as this Pokemon is in play it is both {P} and {F} type" block Flareon's "Flare Effect" ability or Vaporeon's "Aqua Effect" ability or Jolteon's "Electric Effect" ability which adds {R} or {W} or {L} to any stage 1 Pokemon?
    A. No. Golurk would have all 5 types if all of those Abilities were present. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)


    == DOUBLE TYPE (Golurk - XY: Ancient Origins)

    Q. Does Golurk's "Double Type" ability which says "As long as this Pokemon is in play it is both {P} and {F} type" block Flareon's "Flare Effect" ability or Vaporeon's "Aqua Effect" ability or Jolteon's "Electric Effect" ability which adds {R} or {W} or {L} to any stage 1 Pokemon?
    A. No. Golurk would have all 5 types if all of those Abilities were present. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)


    == POISONOUS NEST (Ariados - XY: Ancient Origins)

    Q. Can I use Ariados' "Poisonous Nest" Ability if both my and the opponent's Active Pokemon are Grass type?
    A. No, you cannot. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)

    Q. If "Flare Effect" or "Aqua Effect" or "Electric Effect" has added {R} or {W} or {L} to my {G} Ariados' type, when I use its "Poisonous Nest" Ability to poison all Active Pokemon except {G} type, is Ariados poisoned or not?
    A. Ariados is not poisoned, because it is still {G} type. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == SUPERPOWER (Golurk - XY: Ancient Origins)

    Q. Does Golurk's "Superpower" attack apply Resistance to the +20 damage it does to itself?
    A. Yes, as long as Golurk is Fighting Type at the time of the attack, Resistance would be applied. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ACE TRAINER (XY: Ancient Origins)

    Q. If I play "Ace Trainer" does my opponent draw 6 cards and then draw 3 cards?
    A. No. After you shuffle your hands in, you will draw 6 and your opponent will only draw 3. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)


    == FADED TOWN (XY: Ancient Origins)

    Q. Do Primal EX-Pokemon count as Mega Evolved Pokemon? And will they take damage if the "Faded Town" Stadium is in play?
    A. Yes. They have "Mega" printed on them, so they will receive 2 damage counters for Faded Town. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)


    == FOREST OF GIANT PLANTS (XY: Ancient Origins)

    Q. With the "Forest of Giant Plants" Stadium in play, could I evolve from Oddish to Gloom to Vileplume all in the same turn?
    A. Yes. Oddish can evolve into Gloom on the turn it comes into play, and since Gloom has come into play that turn the stadium would allow it evolve into Vileplume right away too. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == DANGEROUS ENERGY (XY: Ancient Origins)

    Q. If I use an attack that says to "discard an Energy attached to your opponent's Active Pokemon" and I choose to discard their "Dangerous Energy" card, would I still receive the 2 damage counters from "Dangerous Energy" or not?
    A. You would not receive the 2 damage counters. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)

    Q. If Flareon's "Flare Effect" ability or Vaporeon's "Aqua Effect" ability or Jolteon's "Electric Effect" ability adds Fire or Water or Electric type to a Darkness Type Pokemon, does Dangerous Energy get discarded since it says, "If this card is attached to anything other than a {D} Pokemon, discard this card"?
    A. No, it is not discarded. Even with the addition of another type to the Darkness Pokemon it is still also a Darkness Pokemon. (Ancient Origins FAQ; Aug 13, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
     

Share This Page