Compendium Updates for March 28th, 2019

Discussion in 'Compendium Updates' started by PKM4, Apr 9, 2019.

8 league13 468 60
  1. PKM4

    PKM4 Compendium Publishing Assistant

    Last edited: Thursday, March 28th, 2019

    (Added March 21st & 28th Rulings)


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8



    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:


    |

    |

    * February 7th, 2019 -- No New Rulings!! --

    * February 14th, 2019 -- NO MEETING (Valentines Day) --

    * February 21st, 2019 -- No New Rulings!! --

    * February 28th, 2019 -- No New Rulings!! --

    * March 7th, 2019 -- No New Rulings!! --

    * March 14th, 2019 -- No New Rulings!! --

    * March 21st, 2019 TPCi Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --

    * March 28th, 2019 TPCi Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --



    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8



    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ERRATA

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------



    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    META-RULINGS

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------



    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    POKEMON ABILITIES

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    == FAREWELL LETTER (Unown - XY: Ancient Origins)


    Q. Can I use Unown's "Farewell Letter" Ability to discard it from my bench if there are no cards left in my deck to draw from?


    A. No, you cannot. The order of operations for Farewell Letter should be to draw a card first, then discard Unown. If you are unable to draw a card, then you cannot discard the Unown. (Mar 28, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    == POWER DRAW (Swampert - SM: Celestial Storm)


    Q. Can I use Swampert's "Power Draw" Ability to discard a card from my hand if there are no cards left in my deck?


    A. Yes you can. The first part of Power Draw is to discard a card from your hand, period. Then you do as much of the rest of the Ability as you are able to. (Mar 21, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    == SCOOP-UP BLOCK (Mr. Mime - SM: Team Up)


    Q. What happens if I play Acerola or Super Scoop Up for a Pokemon with damage counters on it, but my opponent has Mr. Mime with the "Scoop-Up Block" Ability in play?

    A. You can play the Acerola or Super Scoop Up, but its effect will be blocked and it goes to the discard pile without doing anything. (Mar 28, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    == SPRINT (Zebstrika - SM: Lost Thunder)


    Q. Can I use Zebstrika's "Sprint" Ability to discard my hand if there are no cards left in my deck?


    A. No, you cannot. Discarding your hand is a cost not the effect, and you cannot use Abilities for no effect. (Mar 21, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)


    Q. Can I use Zebstrika's "Sprint" Ability if I have no cards in my hand?


    A. Yes, since you can have a hand of zero cards you can use Sprint as long as there are cards in your deck to draw from. (Mar 21, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    == TRADE (Zoroark GX - SM: Shining Legends)


    Q. Can I use Zoroark GX's "Trade" Ability to discard a card from my hand if there are no cards left in my deck?


    A. Yes you can. The first part of Trade is to discard a card from your hand, period. Then you do as much of the rest of the Ability as you are able to. (Mar 21, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    POKEMON ATTACKS

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------



    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    TRAINER CARDS

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    == BLACK MARKET {*} (SM: Team Up)


    Q. If Black Market {*} is in play, and an Active Darkness Pokemon with up to 3 Darkness energy and a Wishful Baton is Knocked Out by damage from an attack, can the player move all of the Darkness Energy from that Pokemon to another Pokemon and still get Black Market {*}'s effect?

    A. Sorry, but no. Taking prizes is the last step when a Pokemon is knocked out; so after all the Darkness Energy is moved, the opponent would not take one fewer Prize card. (Mar 28, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    == FIERY FLINT (SM: Dragon Majesty)


    Q. Can I play Fiery Flint and discard two cards if there are no cards left in my deck?


    A. No, you cannot. Discarding the two cards is a cost not the effect, and you cannot play Trainer cards for no effect. (Mar 21, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    == LOST BLENDER (SM: Lost Thunder)


    Q. Can I play Lost Blender if there are no cards left in my deck?


    A. Yes, you can. Putting cards into the Lost Zone is the main effect, so you can use this even if you have no cards in your deck. However, you cannot play it unless you can put 2 cards from your hand in the Lost Zone. (Jan 3, 2019 TPCi Rules Team; Mar 21, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    == MYSTERIOUS TREASURE (SM: Forbidden Light)


    Q. Can I play Mysterious Treasure and discard a card if there are no cards left in my deck?


    A. No, you cannot. Discarding the card is a cost not the effect, and you cannot play Trainer cards for no effect. (Mar 21, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    == PLUMERIA (SM: Burning Shadows)


    Q. Can I play Plumeria and discard two cards if my if my opponent has no energy attached to any of their Pokemon?


    A. No, you cannot. Discarding the two cards is a cost not the effect, and you cannot play Trainer cards for no effect. (Mar 21, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    == SOPHOCLES (SM: Burning Shadows)


    Q. Can I play Sophocles and discard two cards if there are no cards left in my deck?

    A. No, you cannot. Discarding the two cards is a cost not the effect, and you cannot play Trainer cards for no effect. (Mar 21, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    == WISHFUL BATON (SM: Burning Shadows)


    Q. If Black Market {*} is in play, and an Active Darkness Pokemon with up to 3 Darkness energy and a Wishful Baton is Knocked Out by damage from an attack, can the player move all of the Darkness Energy from that Pokemon to another Pokemon and still get Black Market {*}'s effect?

    A. Sorry, but no. Taking prizes is the last step when a Pokemon is knocked out; so after all the Darkness Energy is moved, the opponent would not take one fewer Prize card. (Mar 28, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ENERGY CARDS

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------



    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    GENERAL GAMEPLAY

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    == KNOCK OUTS & PRIZES


    Q. If Black Market {*} is in play, and an Active Darkness Pokemon with up to 3 Darkness energy and a Wishful Baton is Knocked Out by damage from an attack, can the player move all of the Darkness Energy from that Pokemon to another Pokemon and still get Black Market {*}'s effect?

    A. Sorry, but no. Taking prizes is the last step when a Pokemon is knocked out; so after all the Darkness Energy is moved, the opponent would not take one fewer Prize card. (Mar 28, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    == SEARCHING (DECK OR DISCARD)


    Q. If a player earns a penalty for "failing to set up Prize cards at the beginning of the game", would playing Acro Bike or Great Ball count as a search for escalation purposes?

    A. A search is classified as an action that occurs following the direction of card text "Search your deck...". It does not include "drawing cards" for things like Acro Bike, nor "looking at the top/bottom X cards" for things like Great Ball, due to the drastically reduced portion of the deck that is accessed. (Mar 28, 2019 TPCi Rules Team)



    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
     

Share This Page