Copying Erika's Hospitality

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Kooper Koushiro, Feb 17, 2019.

  1. Kooper Koushiro

    Kooper Koushiro New Member

    Erika's Hospitality had its wording changed in translation to make the intent more clear, but I am curious about how it interacts with the card's effect being copied, since the Japanese wording sometimes causes rulings to be made that don't quite make sense with the English translation.

    The English text says
    The Japanese text (as translated by Pokébeach) says
    For normal play of the card the effects are the same, being the same effect as the corrected Steven's Advice (Power Keepers 83) with the hand limit being one card less.

    Suppose the effect of Erika's Resolve is copied by Sabrina's Suggestion
    If the player using Sabrina's Suggestion has 5 cards in hand after playing Sabrina's, the English wording makes it clear that Erika's Hospitality cannot be used as there clearly over 4 other cards in hand.
    However, the Japanese wording is less clear. There is no physical Erika's Hospitality to "include" in the count of cards of that player's hand, although there is the physical card Sabrina's Suggestion in the process of resolving.

    As another example where there is no physical card being played by the player, what happens if the player has 5 cards in hand and uses Sylveon FLI 87's Wink Wink? (Or a similar effect, like UD 8 Smeargle's Portrait Poké-Power or LOT 157 Smeargle's Stunning Likeness attack)
    The English wording again would indicate an inability to use Erika's Hospitality, whereas the Japanese wording does not have a physical copy of Erika's Hospitality to include, so it would seem possible to use.

    So, is there a "phantom" Erika's Hospitality considered to be in hand/being played when copying it?



    Also, since Steven's Advice uses a wording template like the Japanese wording of Erika's Hospitality, would the same rulings apply (with the card counts increased by 1 of course, to account for the hand limit difference in the cards)?
    Thanks!
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You're over thinking it.
    When you play the Sabrina's Suggestion, it is no longer in your hand. It is on the play field.
    So you have to 4 or less cards remaining in your hand if you want to use the effect of Erika's Hospitality.
    There is no phantom card nor does their need to be. There is no requirement that an Erika's needs to be in your hand, just that 4 or less other cards are there. Other meaning not the card being played. Which, at the time of playing it, is no longer in your hand anyway.
    Based on cases like this, I think the English text is clearer.
     
    Otaku likes this.

Share This Page