Damage spreaders - Strength Charm a plus?

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by zapatosunidos, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. zapatosunidos

    zapatosunidos New Member

    When attaching Strength Charm to something like Prinplup or Lucario, if the active Pokemon is damaged, does the bench damage also get increased by 10?
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2008
  2. pichu bros. rox

    pichu bros. rox New Member

  3. Rai

    Rai <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Strength Charm and Pluspower both say that they only increase damage done to an active pokemon. The wording both of them is a tad weird though,so if you do damage to yourself, it's increased ('cause technically you'd be damaging an active pokemon). However, neither increases damage to the bench, 'cause none of those pokemon are considered active at the time of damage.
     
  4. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    It helps to read the card.
     
  5. ShadowTogetic

    ShadowTogetic New Member

    Questions would probably decrease if cards were read like they were supposed to
     
  6. Bolt

    Bolt New Member

    sometimes.

    there's a lot of situations where what you think may not actually be the case...
     
  7. zapatosunidos

    zapatosunidos New Member

    I have obviously read the card. I would not have opened myself up to this withering assault without having done so.

    The text of Strength Charm, though, as opposed to Plus Power, is syntactically vague. The text of the card reads, as we all know, "Whenever an attack...does damage to the Active Pokemon, the attack does 10 more damage (...). In the case of Lucario and Prinplup, the attack not only does damage to the active (a necessary precondition for the card to have any effect) but also to a benched Pokemon (all of them, in Prinplup's case). It does not specify that the subject of that increased damage is only the Active Pokemon, unlike Plus Power, which is explicit: "the attack does 10 more damage to the Active Pokemon."

    Especially in light of the subtle difference in wording, it is not out-of-bounds to ask for clarification from folks who presumably know the ruling on the card. I assure you that I will never post a question on the meaning of a card without having first read it thoroughly. That is my pledge to you.
     

Share This Page