"Dark" in its name

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by votalesin, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. votalesin

    votalesin New Member

    An odd question came up at league, and many of the younger players refused to believe the answer I gave them because "Darkrai is legendary so its okay"

    Rocket's Hideout states: "Each Pokemon in play with Dark or Rocket's in its name (both yours and your opponent's) gets +20 HP. " (TRR)

    Darkrai is not a Dark _(insert name here)_ Pokemon like the card is referring to. However, he does have the word "Dark" in the spelling of his name. Would the effect take place?

    Also, this made me think of a stranger question.

    Brock's Training Method: Search your deck for a Basic Pokemon or Evolution card with Brock in its name. Show that card to your opponent, then put it into your hand. Shuffle your deck afterward.

    Brock's Protection: Attach Brock's Protection to 1 of your Pokemon with Brock in its name. Energy cards attached to that Pokemon can't be removed by your opponent's attacks or Trainer cards. (This doesn't stop the rest of the attack or Trainer card from working normally.)

    Birthday Pikachu

    If one was to write Brock in the blank space on the Pikachu card, would that allow for the Gym series cards to function as normal? If one was to write Erika, or Lt. Surge, or Dark, or Team Magma? This one card could be discarded to "draw 4 instead" or gain the extra 20 HP from Rocket's Hideout.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    The 'dark' in Darkrai is does not count as having dark in it's name.

    Writing a trainer's name on Happy Birthday Pikachu would not allow you to use the cards that reference having that name on the card.

    BDS
     
  3. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    It has to be the discrete word "Dark", not those letters in sequence as part of another word
     

Share This Page