Do Fossils have a retreat cost?

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by NoPoke, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    Just musing on retreat cost. whilst in play Fossils are colorless pokemon. They lack both the weakness and resistance text commonly found at the bottom of true pokemon. We don't apply weakness or resistance. They also lack the Retreat Cost text. So do they have a retreat cost? I know they can't retreat but that is a seperate issue.
     
  2. mrdraz07

    mrdraz07 New Member

    That's interesting. I'm guessing no.
     
  3. tglilly

    tglilly New Member

    It says right on the card that it can not retreat.
     
  4. Rai

    Rai <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Seems to imply that Fossils don't have a retreat cost.
     
  5. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    drat missed Gravity Wave. Thanks Rai.

    A pokemon that has no weakness has a blank where the weakness energy symbol would be. A pokemon with zero retreat cost has a blank where the retreat cost would be. zero and absence aren't quite the same thing, yet there is little to nothing on the cards to base any decision about the retreat cost for fossils, hence my musing. In particular for cards that do damage based upon retreat cost. Would Fossils be immune?
     
  6. SPARTA

    SPARTA New Member

    Fossil pokemon have a retreat of 0.
     
  7. furrymuskrat03

    furrymuskrat03 New Member

    no. read it. "at any time in between turns, you can remove fossil from play and put it in your discard pile. this does NOT count as knocking out fossil" so no. you can only discard them from play. unless there has been an errata recently, i believe that is true
     
  8. Rai

    Rai <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Since Gravity Wave damages pokemon on the bench without a retreat cost, we can conclude that Fossils have no retreat cost (when checking for the effect of a card, that is)
    So Breloom's Homing Uppercut would do the extra damage (...Not like it needs to <_<), and anything like Masquerian MT's Centrifugal Force would do zero damage.

    Now the question is... Does this still apply even if something like Ariados MT was in play? Going off of the old "You have to deal damage to increase it" rule from Pluspower, I'd think that Centrifugal Force would still deal zero damage to fossils... It's not like a normal pokemon which explicitly states its retreat cost being zero; it seems to be more that there just isn't a space for retreat cost, so it can't be affected (ie: Increased via Ariados) or counted for damage (ie: Duskclop's Gravity Wave)
     
  9. Crystal Hikara

    Crystal Hikara New Member

    I know that the old Mysterious Fossils said 'cannot attack, retreat, etc'. They can only be discarded from play. Not sure of the more up-to-date ruling, but I think it would be similar.
     
  10. SPARTA

    SPARTA New Member

    One of the questions on a test I took for pokemon asks this same question. The answer was that they have a retreat of 0 because they have no retreat.
     
  11. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    They have no retreat cost.
    you can't add to it since it doesn't exist.
    This is per Japan's PCL
     
  12. Mew

    Mew New Member

    So if the retreat is non-existant, you can't add to it. If the retreat is zero you can.
    Hmm, interesting.
     
  13. ryanvergel

    ryanvergel New Member

    No retreat cost is 0 retreat cost.

    They're the highest costing free retreat pokemon in the game!
     
  14. Cyrus

    Cyrus Iron Chef - Master Emeritus

    Good catch, Rai.
     
  15. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    How about Brelooms' Homming Uppercut attack vs a Fossil http://pokegym.net/gallery/displayimage.php?imageid=31893 How much damage?

    60 or 120?

    Has no retreat cost means you can't answer yes to retreat cost=0?

    DRE, some other effect that reduces damage and 60 may not be enough to KO a Fossil.
     
  16. ryanvergel

    ryanvergel New Member

    If I use meganium d's attack vs a Breloom, who proceeds to attach cyclone energy and I bring out a fossil, does his attack knock me out or not?
     
  17. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    The Gravity Wave ruling answers this question.
    It is treated as a retreat cost that is set to zero.
     
  18. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Can you outline the pivot point of this question in a bit more detail?
     
  19. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    Can fossils ever have a weakness or resistance for the purposes of Garchomp? (new Dialga and Palkia too). Would it be immune to Base Porygon's conversion?
     
  20. ShadowGuard

    ShadowGuard <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Of course it can't have weakness or resistance, I don't see any problem with this because there are other Pokémon that don't have any.

    And yes, it's immune to Conversion and Rainbow Scales just like all the other Pokémon without weakness.
     

Share This Page