Does Lv. X give a Pokemon a new form?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by yoyofsho16, May 4, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. yoyofsho16

    yoyofsho16 New Member

    So this guy at my card shop is kind of unfair sometimes. He RARELY loses, and when he is about to, he gets really strict with the rules, and tries to make loop holes. I beat him twice today because I was able to use Bring Down by attaching Double Rainbow Energy.

    TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT: He claimed that he had won, because you can only attach DRE to an evolved pokemon, and that leveling up Gardevoir no longer made it a basic or evolved pokemon. I am VERY SURE that that is incorrect, but I want to be 100% sure.

    And if the odds are in my favor, could you send a link to a PCL site or Compendium where it says this ruling, just so I can prove it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    A Level X card is not a Basic or an Evolution WHEN NOT IN PLAY.
    Once it is in play, the Level X card takes on attributes of the card that it leveled up from. What Stage it is is one of those attributes.
    Gardevoir LvX, when Leveled up from an evolved Gardevoir, is an evolved Pokemon.
    You won.

    While it's not a direct ruling, this ruling on Primal Stare makes use of this fact in it's answer:

    http://compendium.pokegym.net/compendium-lvx.html#24
     

Share This Page