Doom News + Catastrophe

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Vunajan, Mar 15, 2011.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Vunajan

    Vunajan New Member

    hiya,

    I searched and found a topic about this before,
    http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=142579

    but my scenario is a little different, so you might know the answer,

    player A uses Doom News on B's bidoof,
    on his turn, player B knocks out A's Absol G,

    I believe both KOs are checked at the same point (in between turns), is that correct?
    if so, if A (or B) promotes Gengar Prime as new active, Catastrophe won't be activated in time, right?

    reference for Absol G
    http://pokegym.net/gallery/showimage.php?i=48155&c=223

    Gengar Prime
    http://pokegym.net/gallery/showimage.php?i=51113&c=253

    thanks!
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Well, your timing is off.
    Between turns is not when KOs from attack are checked. You are still within the attacking player's turn.
    So, Bidoof attacks Absol G, it is KO'd, the KO is resolved.
    A new Pokemon is brought up as active, let's say Gengar prime.
    Now, at the end of Bidoof's turn, it is KO'd due to Doom News, and since Gengar is active, it goes to the Lost Zone.
     

Share This Page