Eevee can't evolve that fast anymore?

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by GOROY, Sep 12, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
  1. BJJ763

    BJJ763 Trading Mod Supervisor Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    I feel the attack should be ruled as still able to work first turn. When you use the attack on your first turn, the effect (putting a Stage 1 on a Benched Basic) happens at the end of the attack and right before the start of the 'between turns' section of play, so that's close enough to not being your first turn for me. Course that means Chain Reaction Eevee would also get to Evolve if it's in play when that happens....
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Nope. It's still the first turn until all effects of the attack are done. So Lunar Power should not work on the first turn of the game.
     
  3. Otaku

    Otaku Active Member

    Your own words kinda kill that argument: the effect of the attack, no matter how late, is still during that turn. It's not between, its during. It's that simple. We may not like it, but it is in accordance with the new ruling. In some ways, this benefits some Pokemon: look at Energy Evolution Eevee.

    *dodges chairs*

    I know that when I ran it, if I ran the oft seen "multi-Eeveelutions" deck, sometimes the power went off at a very bad time, forcing me to evolve into the wrong one.

    But back to the ruling question: no evolving first turn. That's the new ruling, isn't it? If we start "fudging it", then we have a problem. Every inch you give on it, makes it more likely another one will be taken. The argument that the turn is almost over since the attack ends the turn should raise the question: what if something else ended my turn? Would that be legal to evolve via it then? Not that it exists, but say there was an Eevee who could search the deck for an Eeveelution and then evolve to it, but said Power automatically ended your turn. By the logic of "the turn is almost over anyway", the minute you use activate the power, your turn would be "almost over any", just as it is when you use an attack? Some might go even further and say: what if Iend my turn after I use Energy Evolution? Then it too has fulfilled the parameter of "the turnw as almost over anyway".

    Slippery slope indeed.
     
  4. dkates

    dkates New Member

    Agreed. The less concrete a rule, the more it gets abused. The rule is that you can't evolve anything, in any way, on the first turn of the game, regardless of card effects. Therefore, the earliest one can evolve a Pokemon at all is between turns after the second player takes his first turn. For example, Star Piece can activate after the second player's first turn at the earliest. JMO.
     
  5. ranmasaotomes

    ranmasaotomes New Member

    Hey Guys. Is there a Downloadable version of the master rulings document with ALL updayed versions of the rules. As a current gum leader I might be interested in downloading it. And hopefully finding updates for it.
     
  6. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    P-USA hasn't started up a Master Rulings Document like WotC had. However, the Compendium has continued to compile the rulings and the R&S EX-on rulings are in the Compendium EX document found here: http://pkcompendium.hypermart.net/
     

Share This Page