Effects of Attacks

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by GenoFury, May 8, 2008.

  1. GenoFury

    GenoFury New Member

    Does "effects of attacks, excluding damage", such as the text on Unown G, prevent extra damage from attacks? Such as a Great Encounters Seviper attacking a pokemon with Unown G attached with its Poison Tail attack. If the Seviper gets a heads does it do 60 damage and no poison or 30 damage and no poison? Wouldn't the additional damage be the effect of the attack? Isn't the "excluding damage" text on the Unown G refering to the base damage of the attack?
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    It's damage, right? So since it's damage, it is excluded and gets done.

    Many players confuse Damage and Base Damage with the big number printed to the right of the attack.
    All that is, is how much is done to the Active before any modifications by attack text or other effects or Weakness and Resistance.

    Damage is the final number, after all attack calculations are done, that is done to the Defending Pokemon.
     
  3. Papi/Manny

    Papi/Manny New Member

    No. Unown G prevents effects of attacks. Calculating damage (weakness, resistance, adding damage, ect.) are not effects.
     
  4. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    No, the text on the card is instruction on how to calculate the final damage and is not an effect.

    It is a very common missunderstanding of the term damage as used by pokemon.
     
  5. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Slowpokes. :tongue:
     
  6. V_For_Vendetta

    V_For_Vendetta New Member

    I believe the phrase appropriate for this case would be...
    YOU GOT PWNED BY THE POKEPOPZ!!!
     

Share This Page