Electivire Lv. X

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by brody, Mar 13, 2008.

  1. brody

    brody New Member

    Electivire Lv. X states:

    EC: Pulse Barrier - Discard all your opponent's Pokemon Tool cards and Stadium cards in play. If you do, prevent all effects, including damage, done to Electivire during your opponents next turn.

    Now my question is, the card does not state that your opponent has to have a pokemon tool card or stadium in play to gain this "prevent all effects, including damage" effect. Nor does it state that this attack has to successfully remove one of the two from play to gain the "prevent all effects, including damage" effect.

    Does your opponent have to have a Pokemon Tool or Stadium in play to gain the "Prevent all effects, including damage" effect?

    If my opponent doesn't does that mean if that was my only pokemon out and I just chain used that attack there really isn't anything that my opponent can do?
     
  2. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    Basically it's a two step process:

    1. Discard all X.
    2. If you discard any X, do Y.

    If your opponent doesn't have X, you don't do Y. (Thus if you can't discard any of those cards in play, Electivire doesn't get protection.)
     

Share This Page