Encore vs. "Can´t use"-attacks

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Glumanda, Nov 12, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Glumanda

    Glumanda Rulings Compendium Translator

    Golduck´s Encore reads:
    Choose 1 of the Defending Pokémon´s attacks. That Pokémon can use only that attack during your oppoent´s next turn.

    There are some attacks, like "Flame Buster" of Magmortar Lv. X which say:
    "During your next turn, [this Pokémon] can´t use [this attack]".

    If my opponent attacked which Flame Buster in the last turn, am I allowed to choose Flame Buster for the effect of Encore? If yes, am I right to assume that Magmortar Lv. X would not be allowed to attack at all in the next turn?
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2007
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Yes, you can choose it for encore and yes, they would still not be able to use it, so they'd be stuck with nothing.
     

Share This Page