Energy Burn / Jungle Totem: Ability Interaction

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by MegaVelocibot, Oct 8, 2017.

  1. MegaVelocibot

    MegaVelocibot <a href="http://pokegym.net/gallery/browseimages.p

    1. A player has a Charizard (EVO-11) in play with three basic Grass Energy attached to it. That player also has a Ivysaur (SHL-02) in play. During that turn, that player evolves Ivysaur into Venusaur (SHL-03).
    2. A player has a Charmeleon (EVO-10) in play with three basic Grass Energy attached to it. That player also has a Venusaur (SHL-03) in play. During that turn, that player evolves Charmeleon into Charizard (EVO-11).

    How many of what type of Energy are on Charizard in each situation? (That is, does the order of Evolution and Abilities active affect what quantity and which types the Energy provide?) Does Energy Burn preclude Jungle Totem from seeing the basic Grass Energy as basic Grass Energy and instead as basic Fire Energy, which it would not double? If the Charmeleon with doubled Grass Energy evolves, do the doubled Grass Energy provide doubled Fire Energy?

    Ability: Energy Burn
    All Energy attached to this Pokémon are :fire: Energy instead of their usual type.

    Ability: Jungle Totem
    Each basic :grass: Energy attached to your Pokémon provides :grass::grass: Energy. You can't apply more than 1 Jungle Totem Ability at a time.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    the key words are "instead of".

    So, they are Fire instead of Grass.
    If they retained their Grass attribute, then you could combo these effects.
    But as soon as Charizard changes them to Fire, they no longer get the double effect from Venusaur.
     
    Otaku likes this.

Share This Page