Explosive Evolution Ruling

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by ninetales1234, Sep 18, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. ninetales1234

    ninetales1234 <a href="http://pokegym.net/gallery/browseimages.p

    This ruling seems to contradict the "deck is private information, therfore you can search and intentionally fail" concept. Though I could be wrong. Is this ruling out of date?

    == EXPLOSIVE EVOLUTION (Dark Pupitar - Neo: Destiny Expansion, Dark Pupitar - EX:Team Rocket Returns)

    Q. For Dark Pupitar's "Explosive Evolution", do you have to evolve it no matter what?
    A. If you use the attack and get heads, then you must search and evolve. It is not "optional". (Nov 4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    -------------------------
    And what about the ruling on Igglybuff?

    == SET SONG (Igglybuff - EX:Hidden Legends)

    Q. Can I get just one, but not the other? What happens if only one of the two is in the deck?
    A. You must get both, if you can. If you do not have both in your deck, but have at least one, you can get the one that is in your deck. (EX:Hidden Legends FAQ)


    Can't you search your deck for nothing?
    --------------------------------
    == POKENAV (EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. When you play PokéNav if all three cards are trainers, how do you resolve it?
    A. If all three are trainers, then you would show all three to your opponent (to prove there are no Pokémon) and then place all three back on top of the deck in any order. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Why would you have to prove anything to your opponent, if your deck is private information, and searches can intentionally fail?
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2007
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    These should all be reviewed in light of the current rulings based on the deck not being public knowledge.

    BDS
     

Share This Page