Feb. 12, 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Chrisbo, Feb 13, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chrisbo

    Chrisbo Administrator

    Whew, we finally got a firm answer on Rayquaza-EX this week.

    Enjoy,
    - CHRISBO

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:
    |
    |
    |
    * February 12th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    == DRAGON BURST (Rayquaza-EX - EX:Dragon)
    Q. If I have a Rayquaza-EX Active with three Lighting energy and a Rainbow Energy and used Dragon Burst, would I have to discard the Rainbow Energy along with the Lighting energy? Would the same apply with a Multi Energy?
    A. Yes, Rainbow Energy counts as all types, so it would have to be discarded along with the rest of the Lightning Energy (if that's the type you choose to discard). Same goes for Multi Energy as long as no other special energy cards are attached at the time of attack. This is a REVERSAL of what was stated in the EX-Dragon prerelease FAQ. (Feb 12, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == CONVERSION 1/2 (Porygon - Base Set, Porygon - Team Rocket Expansion)
    Q. If I used Porygon's "Conversion 1" attack against a pokemon with two weaknesses, would I change only 1 of the weaknesses or both? Or could I change them both to the same type (i.e. double-weak to Fire), and if so would an attack from that type do quadruple damage?
    A. You can only change one weakness per turn, but if you used Conversion 1 twice in a row you may change both of the weaknesses to the same color. And the damage would be quadrupled if weakness gets applied twice. (Feb 12, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    == CRITICAL MOVE (Slaking - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)
    Q. If I use Slaking's "Critical Move" attack, and on my next turn I use Switch and then retreat for the same Slaking, can I then use his "Critical Move" attack again? Does the effect of "Slaking can't attack during your next turn" get removed when he goes to the bench?
    A. Effects like this go away when the active goes to the bench. So if Slaking goes to the bench and becomes active once again, he can then use Critical Move on that turn. (Feb 12, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    == RESISTANCE GYM (Gym:Challenge)
    Q. Resistance Gym says, "each Pokémon’s Resistance is reduced by 20 (if a Pokémon’s Resistance is -30, it becomes -10)." So what happens in the case where a Pokemon has more than one Resistance (i.e. Salamence is resistant to both Fire & Fighting) and the attacking Pokemon is of both types (i.e. Kecleon with both Fire & Fighting energy attached)? If we apply it to each one separately then the final Resistance will be 20 (30-20 times two); but if we apply it to both of them combined the final Resistance will be 40 (30+30 minus 20). So which is it?
    A. In the case of dual-resistance, each one would be evaluated separately. So the Resistance Gym would reduce the final Resistance to 20 (30-20 times two), if both resistances are to be applied. (Feb 12, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TWO ON TWO GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TEAM GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
     
  2. Sensei

    Sensei Team Compendium Emeritus Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Hey slacker,you took my job away! ;) :p

    Oh,just to let everyone know,it was let on to us that we could tell you that PUI is working on a Penalty Guideline for tournaments.No timeframe was given but we can all look forward to it in the near future some time.

    `Sensei
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page