February 26th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Chrisbo, Feb 27, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chrisbo

    Chrisbo Administrator

    Here we go:

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:

    |
    |
    |
    * February 26th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == SHARPEDO (EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. I have an Italian-language Sharpedo, and it's Poke-Body says it puts 1 damage counter if it's hurt in an attack. English-language Sharpedo's say 2 counters. How do I play the card?
    A. Play the Sharpedo as if it did 2 damage counters. It didn't get weaker as it swam the Atlantic. (Feb 26, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == DRAGON WIND (Salamence - EX:Dragon)

    [CHRISBO NOTE: Update this entry for clarity.]
    Q. For Salamence's "Dragon Wind", who chooses the Benched Pokemon, the attacker or the defender?
    A. The Active Player chooses which Benched Pokemon to switch; the opponent chooses which of their Defending Pokemon [in the case of 2-on-2 play]. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == JAGGED STONE (Claw Fossil - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Considering the wording of Pelipper's "Swallow" attack, does the damage on Pelipper get removed BEFORE or AFTER Claw Fossil's "Jagged Stone" Poke-Body damages Pelipper? Jagged Stone places 1 damage counter on Pelipper as a result of Pelipper's attack, then the text of Swallow says to remove damage counters AFTER the attack (implying that the attack has been completely resolved).
    A. The language used for Swallow is over-specific. The process at the end of the attack: Do damage; next, do the rest of the Attacking Pokemon's effects; lastly, do any of the Defending Pokemon's effects. So in this case, Pelipper's Swallow removes damage counters FIRST (if any), and then Claw Fossil's "Jagged Stone" kicks in afterward. (Oct 30, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == ROUGH SKIN (Sharpedo - EX:Ruby/Sapphire; Carvanha - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. If an attack "places damage counters" on Sharpedo or Carvanha, does "Rough Skin" get to work?
    A. Damage counters are typically phrased that way to mean something other than damage. So, Rough Skin does not trigger on damage counters. (Feb 26, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == DAMAGE CURSE (Shedinja - EX:Dragon)

    Q. What's happen if Shedinja uses its "Damage Curse" attack on Sharpedo? Does Sharpedo's "Rough Skin" get to work? And if so, would Shedinja's "Wonder Guard" Poke-BODY prevent Sharpedo's recoil?
    A. Since Damage Curse "places counters", Sharpedo's Rough Skin does not get to work. (Feb 26, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. What does "This counts as evolving that Pokémon" mean, in game terms?
    A. It counts towards the one evolution per turn for that Pokémon (with exceptions for Trainers and Pokémon Powers that break that rule) and removes Special Conditions on that Pokémon. (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == EVOLVING

    Q. What does "This counts as evolving that Pokémon" mean, in game terms?
    A. It counts towards the one evolution per turn for that Pokémon (with exceptions for Trainers and Pokémon Powers that break that rule) and removes Special Conditions on that Pokémon. (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TWO ON TWO GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TEAM GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

    Enjoy,
    - CHRISBO
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page