follow up : electromagenetic jam and where effect lies

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by speeder, Oct 3, 2007.

  1. speeder

    speeder New Member

    in regards to this question,

    http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=60258

    Electromagnetic Jam : 10 : flip a coin. If heads, your opponent can't attach any energy cards from his or her hand to the active pokemon during his or her next turn.

    Ruling was that the effect was on your opponent, and not on the defending pokemon.

    Is there a "metarule" that you can follow to easily determine whether or not an effect is on the current defending pokemon (which can be removed by evolving, or retreating) or on an opponent (which cannot be removed).

    Thanks.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    If it says "the Defending Pokemon", it is on the Pokemon that was attacked.
    If it says "your opponent" and does not reference the Defending Pokemon, it is on the opponent.
    In this case, it says "Active Pokemon", but that is different wording than "Defending Pokemon".
     

Share This Page