For Battle Road Playtesters ? Red Armor & Defender

Discussion in 'Compendium Notices' started by bulbasnore, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Here are some official rulings from TPCi Rules Team that we’d like to get out to all you Battle Road playtesters this week.

    Q. If Garchomp [C] Lv.X has Special Energy cards attached and discards all of them when using its “Dragon Rush” attack, can it do damage to a Scizor that has the “Red Armor” Poke-BODY?
    A. No. First choose which two energies to discard, then do the damage (before any other effects), then you actually discard the energy at the end of the attack. So it will still be attached at the point when damage would be done, but the damage will be blocked. (Aug 19, 2010 PUI Rules Team; Sep 2, 2010 PUI Rules Team)


    Red Armor is also in effect against other attacks, besides Dragon Rush, that would discard all special energy as part of the attack.


    Q. If I attach Defender to Drifblim and do “Balloon Tackle”, does Defender prevent the 20 self damage from that attack?
    A. Yes. Play Defender as if the damage prevention wording was printed, “Any damage done by attacks to the Pokémon Defender is attached to is reduced by 20 (after applying Weakness and Resistance).” (Aug 19, 2010 PUI Rules Team)


    Defender from Undaunted appears to have been printed incorrectly; play it as per the ruling. Base Set Defender is legal for Battle Road without any reference.



    Visit original post on Compendium site...
     
  2. sleeping lugia

    sleeping lugia New Member

    can special metal energy block damage you take from your own attack?
     
  3. MathAenya

    MathAenya New Member

    "Q. If Garchomp [C] Lv.X has Special Energy cards attached and discards all of them when using its “Dragon Rush” attack, can it do damage to a Scizor that has the “Red Armor” Poke-BODY?
    A. No. First choose which two energies to discard, then do the damage (before any other effects), then you actually discard the energy at the end of the attack. So it will still be attached at the point when damage would be done, but the damage will be blocked. (Aug 19, 2010 PUI Rules Team; Sep 2, 2010 PUI Rules Team)"


    If I remember correctly, Dragon Rush worked on MT Mr.Mime despite of its poke-body.
    How is that different here ?
     
  4. bullados

    bullados <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?

    It's the exact same principle.

    You choose.

    Then you do damage. (check effects on the defending)

    Then you discard.

    There is no contradiction between these two rulings.
     
  5. Kayle

    Kayle New Member

    You have it backwards. Remember, Mr. Mime MT blocks damage from Pokemon with LESS energy, as opposed to Scizor who blocks Pokemon with MORE energy.
     
  6. JandPDS

    JandPDS New Member

    The number of energy on a Pokemon has zero to with Scizors pokebody. A pokemon with Basic energy only of quantity can hurt Scizor, any pokemon with any special energy attatched can not hurt sciizor. ewxceot for thoes with attacks that go thorugh any and alll efects on the defending pokemon.
     
  7. rokman

    rokman <a href="http://pokegym.net/gallery/browseimages.p

    yes.

    It says "attacks" that means yours and your opponents.

    Otherwise it would say "attacks from your opponent's pokemon"

    So if you have a dialga with 1 metal on the bench and attack with Donphan's earthquake, it won't do 10 to dialga.




    .... I'm pretty sure
     
  8. Kayle

    Kayle New Member

    Well, yeah, but for sake of comparison, if you have no energy attached then Scizor's body won't do anything. ;P
     
  9. Prime

    Prime Content Developer<br>Blog Admin<br>Contest Host

    What happens if Garchomp C Lv.X attacks a Garchomp SV?

    Does the energy card, lets say the Garchomp C Lv.X only had a DCE and Energy Gain attached, the DCE get bounced back to the hand before discarding (because you do the damage before discarding), and if so, is the attack (from the Garchomp C Lv.X) invalidated because Garchomp C Lv.X cannot discard an energy for it?
     
  10. Kayle

    Kayle New Member

    Garchomp SV's body is not checked until after the attack (which is the meaning of the wording "takes damage from an attack", if I understand correctly.
     

Share This Page