For CC 2010 Playtesters ? Insight, Space Virus and Legend Box.

Discussion in 'Compendium Notices' started by bulbasnore, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member

    We have a few batches of questions where not all the questions have been answered. Mixed in among those batches are some answered questions relevant to Cities, that we’d like to publish here so that they get out there in time. Here they are in no particular order:

    Q. When Yanmega tries to attack, do you evaluate the number of cards in your hand for the “Insight” Poke-BODY before or after discarding a card for Giratina Lv.X’s “Invisible Tentacles” Poke-BODY?
    A. The Insight Poke-BODY is evaluated before your attack even begins; therefore it is checked before discarding any cards for Invisible Tentacles.*(Nov 11, 2010 PUI Rules Team)
    Q. If Deoxys & Rayquaza LEGEND knocks out a Dialga [G] Lv.X with the “Time Crystal” Poke-BODY, does Deoxys & Rayquaza LEGEND’s “Space Virus” Poke-BODY turn on in time for it to take two prizes?
    A. When Dialga [G] Lv.X is KO’d and discarded, the Space Virus Poke-BODY turns back on and allows the player to take 1 more prize card. (Sep 23, 2010 PUI Rules Team)
    Q. On the part of Legend Box where it talks about “you can play only 1 Pokemon LEGEND in this way”, is that just for the play of the card, or for the entire game?
    A. It only lasts for as long as the Trainer is being used. *It just means that if you reveal two or more complete Pokemon LEGENDs that you can only put one of them onto your bench for that trainer card played. (Sep 23, 2010 PUI Rules Team)


    Visit original post on Compendium site...
     
  2. Porii Sames

    Porii Sames Active Member

    Um, can I request a Lugia LEGEND Ppower ruling comfirmation?
     
  3. DonphanAtoZ

    DonphanAtoZ New Member

    Porii is going to use Lugia competitively!! YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
     
  4. Porii Sames

    Porii Sames Active Member

    No, my friend does.

    THat ruling keeps me awake at nights while I'm trying to find the answer.
     
  5. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You can ask the question in the Ask the Rules Team forum.
     
  6. Porii Sames

    Porii Sames Active Member

    I did and you said there was no official answer. I've gotten different answers from different people, so I kinda want confirmation.

    My question:

    If you use Lugia Legend's Poke Power, Ocean Glow, and you reveal at least 1 energy in your top 5 cards, can you fail to get that energy (or any energy cards there for that matter) since your deck is still private knowledge?

    THe thing I'm concerned about is if you isolate the text for a second.

    Look at the top 5 cards from your deck. Attach all energy to Lugia Legend.

    See? Now why couldn't you fail that?
     
  7. evil psyduck

    evil psyduck Moderator

    Do you really want to take a chance on getting a game lss?

    It says attach the energy you find to lugia legend and to discard the rest.

    That means no cards go back to the deck.

    When you discard the others where are you going to put the energy that ARE there?

    You can't put them back in the deck. You can't put them in the discard pile. You can't put them in your hand.

    Makes sense that the only place they can go is attached to Lugia Legend.
     
  8. Porii Sames

    Porii Sames Active Member

    I know they have to be discarded.

    But the issue is that when you are looking at the top 5, isn't it still private knowledge?

    I dunno. I guess I'm just stubborn. I really want confirmation.
     
  9. evil psyduck

    evil psyduck Moderator

    What are you saying has to be discarded the energy. If so you are wrong!!! If you are talking about non energy cards you are right. Now tell me what are you going to do with any energy you find in the five cards you look at?
     
  10. Porii Sames

    Porii Sames Active Member

    OK

    Player 1

    1. Use Lugia Legend's Poke Power
    2. Look at the top 5
    3. Think "oh, I don't want to attach this energy(for various reasons)"
    4. Choose not to attach said energy while attaching the rest
    5. Discard the remaining cards AND the energy you didn't wnat

    Player 2

    1. Calls a judge over
    2. Judge says that I MUST attach ALL energy
    3. I say that my deck was private knowledge. For all my opponent knew, I could have had all or no energy.

    ?
     
  11. evil psyduck

    evil psyduck Moderator

    Ok say you go ahead and discard them(energy). It then becomes public knowledge that you went against what the power says to do.

    Rules lawyer much?

    As for your ? mark. Would be game loss at least.
     
  12. Porii Sames

    Porii Sames Active Member

    Yeah, I know I seem like a rules lawyer, but the fact is that if you leave out the part about discarding the energies, you could easily fail the "search"

    Look I don't want to argue; just how can I veryify this with POP/P!P/TPCi/whoever.
     
  13. evil psyduck

    evil psyduck Moderator

    Wait for the ruling. Or if you plan on playing that card in a tournament ask the head judge before hand and see if he will give you an answer. He does have the final say. Until then i won't chance pulling something like that. Where i judge if you did try that game loss.
     
  14. Porii Sames

    Porii Sames Active Member

    OK, but there's no way of like contacting them? They just kinda test it and rule it?

    I don't even PLAY Lugia; I'm just really curious as to whether or not you can do what I said.
     
  15. yoyofsho16

    yoyofsho16 New Member

    Uh I mean Porii is wrong but why would that be a game loss? Wouldn't it be more of a "No, you have to attach them" and move on?
     
  16. kwisdumb

    kwisdumb New Member

    The Lugia legend ruling is obvious. It's silly, irrelevant questions like these that take time away from real, relevant, needed questions. I don't mean to be rude, but the text on the card is pretty clear, and just from being a player of the game, or at least understanding the game and it's rules, the answer should be just as clear.

    Thanks for these clarifications, rules team!
     
  17. Porii Sames

    Porii Sames Active Member

    Um, excuse me, but some of this stuff seems obvious.

    The Space Virus one was pretty obv., and the Legend Box one was, imo, VERY easy to get if you know anything.

    I just...for some reason am not agreeing with the answers I've gotten. I posted on ATRT and Pop said we didn't have an official answer. I'm waiting for one; not debating about what the ruling would be. Only POP/P!P/TPCi/whoever can decide.
     
  18. kwisdumb

    kwisdumb New Member

    Even though there hasn't been an official answer, I think the answer is pretty obvious. Even if you disagree that it's obvious, you've been told what to do: Ask the HJ on his ruling beforehand. If there isn't an official answer, the answer the HJ gives you will be the one you'll play under. I'm not seeing why you're so confused about it and adamant to get an official ruling on a question that's largely irrelevant, as Lugia Legend has seen little to no competitive play.

    Anyway, sorry to go off-topic. Has there been an official ruling on Junk Arm yet?
     
  19. Porii Sames

    Porii Sames Active Member

    I think I heard it was that you cannot get ANY Junk Arm out of the discard.

    Isn't that what the Japanese one said?
     
  20. kwisdumb

    kwisdumb New Member

    My question was more along the lines of, could you use it if you DON'T have a trainer in the discard, just to discard cards. Even moreso, what if one of the cards you've discarded is a trainer, can you then perform the effect and grab THAT trainer? Maybe it's been answered and I just haven't looked hard enough, though.
     

Share This Page