Fossil Ditto is causing a problem

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by HYPER EEVEE, Sep 8, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
  1. HYPER EEVEE

    HYPER EEVEE Iron Chef - Master Emeritus

    Can you use boost energy on ditto if he is copying an evovled form?

    Does the opponent get two prizes if they knock out Ditto while he is copying an EX card?

    If ditto is battling pichu(NG) and it uses zap is ditto credited as having a pokemon power?
     
  2. Captain Obviousx1

    Captain Obviousx1 New Member

    1) Don't know what Boost Energy is or does...

    2)Yes.

    3)Yes, Ditto always has its power, the card even says so.
     
  3. Mr. Grass

    Mr. Grass New Member

    I agree with CaptainObvious, though you bring up a good point with boost energy. Off hand I'd say you could play Boost Energy on Ditto as long as it is opposite an evolved pokemon, though I could be wrong.
     
  4. Orange Soda

    Orange Soda New Member

    Quoth Compendium:

     
  5. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    And yes, Ditto gives two prizes if opposite an EX Pokemon, just like he gives no Prize if opposite a Mysterious Fossil.
     
  6. dkates

    dkates New Member

    Basically, the only things Ditto doesn't copy are how much damage has been taken, any Special Conditions or attack effects the other Pokemon has on it, the ability to evolve, and anything that happens specifically because of the presence of another card. What Ditto does copy is HP, Weakness, Resistance, Retreat Cost, attacks, Pokemon Powers, and rules for whatever card he copies, i.e the Baby and ex rules.
     
  7. DOMCGI

    DOMCGI New Member

    Another way to say, Ditto become exactly the same "CARD" as the opponent active, except:
    1. It is always a basic Pokemon
    2. It always has Pokemon power "Transform"
    3. It can't evolve
    4. It do not copy damage, special condition, and effects (e.g. effect from Sword Dance and Smokescreen)
     
  8. dkates

    dkates New Member

    Well said. The final aspect of Ditto is that each "ball" of Energy attached to Ditto can become any one Energy type, (Dark, Fire, Fighting, Grass, Lightning, Psychic, Steel, Water) although obviously changing Energy to Dark or Steel doesn't add the extra effects. I don't know whether Energy attached to Ditto can be treated as Colorless or not. However, any special effects from the original Energy card remain. This is why Double Colorless works so well with Ditto -- it becomes kinda like a double Rainbow Energy without the penalties, and only one type per "ball" at a time. This was actually one of the points of confusion on some rulings, for example the interaction of Ditto, Double Colorless Energy, and Ecogym.
     

Share This Page