Fossil Trainers/Pokemon Question

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Awesomonewb, Mar 8, 2011.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Awesomonewb

    Awesomonewb Member

    Can I please have an explanation of why you must start with a Fossil if it is your only "Basic" pokemon in your starting hand? Doesn't it count as a Trainer Card in your hand so you shouldn't have to play it? And there should be some ruling then that Effects from :pbody:'s etc. that Fossil Pokemon should not be blocked by such because there is no such effect that says you can't play pokemon.
    If anything, can someone please explain Fossil Cards and their rulings?
     
  2. fossils are trainers in hand pkmn when in play
     
  3. Kayle

    Kayle Active Member

    Fossils being a "basic" for the purposes of game setup is I think a ruling specific to this format and to setup.

    But that feels odd.
     
  4. Awesomonewb

    Awesomonewb Member

    I know that. That is why I don't understand why you have to play them if you only have them in your starting hand.
    Yes it does.
     
  5. Autolycus

    Autolycus New Member

    Do fossils in lost zone count as pokemon or trainers?
     
  6. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    It may "feel odd", but it is a specific rule for set up.
    There is also an "odd" rule that the player going second can't evolve normally on their first turn.
    There are any number of "odd" rules that apply only to the beginning or first turns of the game.
    They have a purpose for being there, though.

    The Lost Zone is not In Play.
     
  7. Awesomonewb

    Awesomonewb Member

    Fossil's should have always been pokemon IMO but oh well. It's really confusing.
     

Share This Page