Gardevoir lv X's Bring Down...

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by finalstain, Dec 6, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. finalstain

    finalstain New Member

    His attack reads "..with the fewest remaining HP (excluding Gardevoir).."

    http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=63886

    Here, it is said that his attack only excludes himself (the lv X doing the attack). But then read Banette who's second attack reads "If Banette is in your discard pile...". This obv does not only refer to the Banette doing the attack; it refers to all cards named Banette. So considering they have the same wording, why wouldnt Gardevoir X's attack refer to all cards named Gardevoir?
     
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    Actually, the Banette is not worded very well. When a Pokemon refers to its own name in an attack, it is called a "self referencing" attack. That means it is talking only about the Pokemon attacking unless it clearly spells out that it means all Pokemon with that name. Now in the case of Banette it sounds like it is referencing itself, but it can't be talking about itself, because there is no way that it could be attacking from the discard pile. It would have been better if it had said, "if there are any Banettes in the discard pile" so it would have been clear that it meant any other Banettes.
     

Share This Page