Gold Berry question

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Pablo, Feb 2, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pablo

    Pablo New Member

    Q.- This actually happened:

    Acive EXP Feraligatr with 11 counters on him and a gold berry attached, vs a EXP ninetales. EXP Feraligatr KO's Ninetales but forgets to remove the Gold Berry in between turns. Player playing Feraligatr remembers just at the start of his opponent's turn and asks the judge if he can remove it along with the 4 damage counters, judge says NO and Feraligatr is Ko'ed because of that.

    My qeustion is, would the EXp Feraligatr player been allowed to remove the Gold Berry even though he forgot to remove it in betweens turns? or was the judge's decision correct and it is optional to remove Gold Berry in between turns?

    thanks for the answer,

    - MuD
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Not only was the Judge wrong to not correct a non-optional gameplay error, you were still within the timeframe of proper working of the text of Gold Berry and the Judge prevented you from playing it per it's text!

    I've bolded the relevent text.

    You were right there, at the beginning of a turn, and were meeting the conditions on the card where the removal of damage counters was mandatory, no longer optional.

    In many cases a Judge's rulings are hard to contradict since situations can be complicated. In this case, it was blatantly wrong.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page