Greninja (BREAKPoint) Shadow Stitching may require errata

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by vincent0906, Jul 2, 2016.

  1. vincent0906

    vincent0906 New Member

    Dear all,

    Long time no see!


    According to the latest compendium rulings:

    == SHADOW STITCHING (Greninja - XY: BREAKpoint)

    Q. If Bronzong with the "Metal Fortress" Ability is in play, are benched Pokemon protected from Greninja's "Shadow Stitching" attack? If so, does it also protect Pokemon that come into play on the bench during the opponent's turn?
    A. If Bronzong is on the Bench, all benched Pokemon are protected, including ones put into play after the attack has happened (for example, Shaymin-EX's "Set Up" Ability will work in this scenario); however, the Active Pokemon is not protected, even if it goes to the Bench it will not get its Ability back. If Bronzong is Active and has its Metal Fortress shut off, the Benched Pokemon are not protected; even if it moves to the Bench, it will not get its Ability back. Finally, if Bronzong is on the Bench and becomes the Active Pokemon during your turn, it loses its Ability and the Benched Pokémon are no longer protected. (Jun 23, 2016 TPCi Rules Team)


    Greninja's (BREAKpoint) Shadow Stitching Attack text (English Version):
    Until the end of your opponent's next turn, each Pokémon your opponent has in play, in his or her hand, and in his or her discard pile has no Abilities. (This includes cards that come into play on that turn.)


    Bronzong's (Fates Collide) Metal Fortress Ability:
    Prevent all effects of your opponent's attacks, including damage, done to your Benched Pokémon.


    Greninja's (XY9) Shadow Stitching Attack text (Japanese Version):
    次の相手の番の終わりまで、相手の場・手札・トラッシュのカードに書かれている特性は、すべてなくなる。(新しく場に出したカードもふくむ。)


    <<<<<<<<<<

    The Japanese Version of the text should be translated as this:
    Until the end of the your opponent's next turn, ignore all abilities of cards at your opponent's hand, discard pile and when in play (Even to cards just come-into-play)


    From my understanding, the effect of shadow stitching is applying to the cards itself but not just to pokemon (for example, Fossil with Abilities in good old days), so the blocking effect overwhelm Bronzong's Ability which only activate when in play.

    Hence, the English Version say the effect applying onto pokemon is wrong and require errata.

    If the new text applies, the answer for the question should be...:
    Q1) If Bronzong with the "Metal Fortress" Ability is in play, are benched Pokemon protected from Greninja's "Shadow Stitching" attack?
    A1) No

    Q1) If so, does it also protect Pokemon that come into play on the bench during the opponent's turn?
    A1) No



    Japanese Official got similar ruling trouble and was clarified in 2016/7/1, please refer to below link:
    http://www.pokemon-card.com/blog/2016/07/000797.html

    【新】相手の番に、相手のバトル場のゲッコウガ(XY9)がワザ「かげぬい」を使用した。次の自分の番、自分のベンチのドーミラーがドータクン(XY10)に進化したとき、ドータクンの特性「はがねのようさい」ははたらかない。

    ドータクン(XY10)に進化する際、すでにワザ「かげぬい」の効果がはたらいており、そのため特性「はがねのようさい」ははたらかない、という裁定になります。


    Please do me a favour to have a review to this matter and reflect the findings to TPCi,
    Many thanks for that!


    Cheers all :thumb:!
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2016
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    No errata needed.
    The English Pokemon TCG uses Pokemon to mean both Pokemon and Pokemon cards.
    Yes, I know. Not how I would have done it.
    But that is in fact what they do, so the wording covers both Pokemon in play and Pokemon cards.
     

Share This Page