Greninja vs Golisopod

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by OHKO, Jun 17, 2017.

  1. OHKO

    OHKO New Member

    Greninja's Attack - Shadow Stiching states

    "Until the end of your opponent's next turn, each Pokémon your opponent has in play, in his or her hand, and in his or her discard pile has no Abilities. (This includes cards that come into play on that turn.)" 40 Damage

    and Golisopod's Ability - Armor states

    "This Pokémon takes 30 less damage from attacks (after applying Weakness and Resistance)"

    If Greninja attacks Golisopod, Does the effect of the attack kick in before calculating damage and Golisopod takes 40

    OR

    does the effect kick in after damage is applied and Golisopod only receives 10?

    I was not sure if there was some sort of order of succession in applying attack damage and their effects.

    Thanks for your time! ( ^ . ^ )
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Damage is always done first, so it would only take 10 damage.
     

Share This Page