Ho-oh: Rainbow Burn. Rainbow Energy?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by whiteunibrow, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. whiteunibrow

    whiteunibrow New Member

    Ho-oh: Rainbow Burn: "This attack does 30 damage plus 10 more damage for each type of Basic Energy card, if any, attached to Ho-Oh."

    Rainbow Energy: Special Energy Card: "Attach Rainbow Energy to 1 of your Pokemon. While in play, Rainbow Energy counts as every type of basic Energy but only provides 1 Energy at a time. (Doesn't count as a basic Energy card when not in play.) When you attach this card from your hand to 1 of your Pokemon, it does 10 damage to that Pokemon. (Don't apply Weakness and Resistance)"

    So for Ho-oh, there are the six original basic types, and now dark and steel exist in basic energy form. So from what i can see, this move can do up to 110 damage.

    The question is, does Rainbow Energy unlock the full 110 damage just by being attached to Ho-oh?

    Please don't reply with just a personal interpretation. I would really like to know if this is allowed at official tournaments and such. It had to have come up in the past. Thanks for reply.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Well, the first thing is that you need to look at the most recent printing of Rainbow Energy rather than on old copy.
    Here:
    [​IMG]

    As you see, it says nothing about being a Basic Energy. It never became a Basic Energy card, the old text was confusing. It is a Special Energy card and so does not count toward adding extra damage to Rainbow Burn.

    You will never, never, never get "just a personal interpretation" in this forum.
    Only Rules Team members and Pokemon USA representatives can answer questions in this forum.
    And if we are not certain that it is an official answer, we just don't answer it until we do get an official answer for a question.
     

Share This Page