Houndoom discarding energy

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by onemaninvazn, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. onemaninvazn

    onemaninvazn New Member

    For Houndoom GE, if you discard a multi energy, do you receive both effects? what if you discard a DRE. Thanks,

    DAve
     
  2. Hatter™

    Hatter™ Active Member

    yes and yes since it says energy and not energy card
     
  3. empoleonperson

    empoleonperson Active Member

    o wow thats awsome now a turn two70 plus burned now i guess why it needs an erreta'd (Sp)
     
  4. Scizor

    Scizor New Member

    =/ This ruling has been around for a LONG TIME, Rayquaza ex DR was like this.....It's nothing new and it's not broken.
     
  5. empoleonperson

    empoleonperson Active Member

    i never said it was broken i said it looks pretty good for one energy. And if you looked at the unknown g thread theres some talk about houndoom im not trying to argue or anything lol.
     
  6. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You said it needs an errata.
    That's the same as saying it's broken.
    Just sayin...
     
  7. Rai

    Rai <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Of course... There's a limit to how awesome of a boost you can get.

    Can't use the Multi Trick if you have a special dark attached. No point in using DRE + Special dark, 'cause you just negated the damage boost with DRE's damage reduction.

    Whoops.

    ((Yes, I know Darkrai LV.X can just power up basic darkness energies with his body. But you'd lose that fast damage by doing that, so... It's not broken at all, basically no matter what. :/))
     
  8. chriscobi634

    chriscobi634 New Member

    what if you have both a fire and dark attached to him? can u choose to discard both for the effects?
     
  9. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    No the discard is singular: You may discard a.....


    [del]If there is to be an errata I'd bet on the addition of the qualification basic to the discard. But until it is announced [/del]you play the card as discarding a multi gets you both effects. I'll state the obvioius now and point out that the multi has to be functioning as a 'rainbow' at the time the choice is made to discard it, if it weren't then you wouldn't be able to select it for discard. [del]If the term basic is added then regardless of multi working as a 'rainbow' you would not be able to select it to be discarded.[/del]


    {edit: since an errata is unlikely I've struck out the bits of my post that might suggest one is forthcomming.]
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2008
  10. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    The ruling on this in the Compendium was from the set's FAQ document.
    That means that this came from the Japanese creators.
    It's not going to be changed. It works how they intended it to.
     

Share This Page