Houndoom with a Special Dark energy

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Grinning_Gengar, Jun 21, 2008.

  1. Grinning_Gengar

    Grinning_Gengar New Member

    I am having some doubts resolving the damage on Black Fire attack.

    Houndoom's "Black Fire" attack says 'You may discard a Fire or Dark Energy attached to Houndoom. If you Discard a Fire Energy, that Defending Pokemon is now Burned. If you discard a Dark Energy, this attack does 40 damage plus 30 more damage.

    How would I resolve the damage if I discard a Special Dark Energy?

    As I understand the rules, any required discarding happens after damage calculations are complete.
    I think it is 80 damage, 40 base damage + 30 damage for the Dark Energy discard (this is where you check for the correct energy that will be discarded) + 10 damage for the Special Dark Energy. then you apply weakness and ressistance, apply damage then discard the energy.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    That is correct.
    80 damage
     

Share This Page