How do you determine who won the tournament?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Adv1sor, Feb 8, 2004.

  1. Adv1sor

    Adv1sor New Member

    How do you determine who won the tournament?

    This may sound like a silly question but recent discussion has shown some division amongst TOs in making this determination and I think that we need a rule here for the sake of consistency.

    Consider the following situations:

    The tournament is six rounds of swiss, no top eight. At the end of the sixth round two players are tied at 5-1. Player A has better tie breakers than player B. Player A’s only loss was to player B. Should player A win the tournament?

    The tournament is six rounds then cut to the top eight. At the end of six rounds player A is undefeated. Player B squeezes into the top eight with a score of 4-2. In the final round of the top eight, player B defeats player A. Should player B win the tournament having lost two matches while player A comes in second having lost only one match?

    We are in need of a firm rule here.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2004

Share This Page