How do you determine who won the tournament?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Adv1sor, Feb 8, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Adv1sor

    Adv1sor New Member

    How do you determine who won the tournament?

    This may sound like a silly question but recent discussion has shown some division amongst TOs in making this determination and I think that we need a rule here for the sake of consistency.

    Consider the following situations:

    The tournament is six rounds of swiss, no top eight. At the end of the sixth round two players are tied at 5-1. Player A has better tie breakers than player B. Player A’s only loss was to player B. Should player A win the tournament?

    The tournament is six rounds then cut to the top eight. At the end of six rounds player A is undefeated. Player B squeezes into the top eight with a score of 4-2. In the final round of the top eight, player B defeats player A. Should player B win the tournament having lost two matches while player A comes in second having lost only one match?

    We are in need of a firm rule here.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2004

Share This Page